Bourbon Street New York Strip Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
My husband and son love this recipe. Easy to make and great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This is just a wonderful recipe, though you do have to enjoy bourbon a good bit to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I read the reviews beforehand and agreed that 3 cups seemed like a lot of whiskey to use for 12 ounces of strip. Plus, my hubby's bottle of Jim Beam was getting a little low and I didn't want to use it all in cooking so I went with 1/2 cup as another suggested and I let it marinate for almost 10 hours. Strong whiskey taste yes but I think that is the whole idea of the recipe. We both enjoyed it but I do think it could use a little bit of liquid smoke and salt in the marinade and will add them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Tastes amazing off the grill! Marinaded rib eyes for about 20 hours in Zsip-Loc bag with this, kneading occasionally to prevent the brown sugar from settling too much. Seared the steaks over flaming coals while continuing to baste with this marinade, then moved the steaks to the 'cool' side of the grill and continued to baste them while grilling to an almost-perfect medium-rare. Served with a fairly dry Cab Sav and some honey-butter flaked biscuits, this is a phenomenal marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
My 24 year old and I loved it, My 17 year did not. I put 1 cup of Bourbon and will put 3/4 cup next time, 1/2 cup brown sugar, Worcestershire sauce, teriyaki sauce, garlic powder, salt and pepper. I do not usually marinate steaks, this was a delightful change, served with rice and green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
very good, but it's right on the cusp of being incredible. i only used 2 cups of burbon and 3/4 cup of sugar, and it came out a bit sweet. I think a pinch or two of salt will kick this up to the next level. I really can't wait. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Way too sweet, and I cut way back on the brown sugar. I added minced garlic to give it another layer of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. The bourbon flavor was overpowering, and it was far too sweet. I ended up reducing the leftover marinade somewhat to burn off the alcohol, then adding a cup of beef broth into which I mixed 1-1/2 Tb cornstarch. Added the juice of half a lemon to try to cut the sweetness. It was a marginally better, but was still too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I tried this recipe twice, the first time was absolutely fantastic, but my wife didn't want to try it, so the next time i made it for both of us and it was WAY too sweet and neither of us liked it. I'm not sure what I did differently, but there is some promise there. Maybe I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefBigJoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States