Bourbon Street New York Strip Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
I tried this because my husband loves whisky, but the whiskey flavor was so strong even he had a hard time eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
This was just too strong of a bourbon taste. Maybe I will try again with only 1 cup of bourbon, add some soy sauce, liquid smoke, and garlic and just let it marinade while I drink the other 2 cups of bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
I modified this recipe by rubbing a small amount of bourbon and dark brown sugar on the steaks and resting them in the frig for a couple of hours. My wife and I thought the steaks were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Excellent recipe. Made this with only 1/2 cup of bourbon and it turned out fabulous. I put a different seasoning on the kid's portions and they decided they didn't want theirs and instead wanted the grown-up version. Very, very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
I loved the taste of the dark brown sugar! I didn't use as much bourbon because I didn't have two cups. It came our great! I made it on my George Foreman grill - which I wouldn't recommend (came out a bit dark).I also made an Au Jus to go on the side by combining two tablespoons of the dark brown suger, 1/4 cup Worchester sauce 1/4 Teriyaki sauce and 1/2 cup water - heated for a minute in the microwave-turned out to be a nice dipping sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
I did not care for this recipe. The bourbon was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Rella Frank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Bourbon & Brown sugar marinades are EXCELLENT for steak! However this is a BIG WASTE of ingredients! Overkill. 1/2C bourbon & 1/4C brown sugar are more than enough for just 2 steaks. (A bit of soy and a sqeeze of lemon juice in the marinade wouldn't hurt either)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
These steaks come out very tender. You do have to be very careful about the sugared side burning however. They also have a lot of flavor. A great simple marinade. However, I wouldn't suggest them to anyone who didn't like the taste of bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
Use a decent bourbon (not regular whiskey) not rotgut. Very sweet and tasty. i'm hooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
too strong tasting need to tone down whiskey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States