Bourbon Street New York Strip Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
We like it and will make it again. I use far less Bourbon though. Use a high quality Bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Not bad. I also, like everyone, cut the whiskey down dramatically. I tasted almost buttery - nice - maybe some mushrooms ina reduced sauce would be great with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I used 1 inch thick Kansas city strip steaks and didn't cut or mallet them. I mixed together 1 shot of bourbon and 1 shot of brown sugar and let the steaks marinade in the mixture for an hour. With a little salt and pepper they were great. They had a very subtle flavor that enhanced the meat. I would use this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I reduced the brown sugar and whiskey by more than a half and still found the recipe too sweet and the bourbon overpowering. This recipe was not my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I read the other reviews and so I changed the recipe up a little, I used a 1/2 cup of bourbon, and 1/2 cup of coffee. It turned out prettygood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Like others, I didn't use nearly as much burbon as the recipe calls for. I used about a shot cup worth, if that. Also used enough brown sugar to make a nice rub out of it. Let marinade for about an hour before grilling. Very good flavor and the burbon wasn't overwhelming. The sugar makes a nice carmelization on the outside of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Bourbon & Brown sugar marinades are EXCELLENT for steak! However this is a BIG WASTE of ingredients! Overkill. 1/2C bourbon & 1/4C brown sugar are more than enough for just 2 steaks. (A bit of soy and a sqeeze of lemon juice in the marinade wouldn't hurt either)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonya
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I did not grill the steaks instead I cooked them in the oven. I added just 1/4 cup of bourbon because I think that bourbon has a strong taste. I used 1 1/2 cups of light brown sugar. Additionally, I added 1 tablespoon of worchester sause and soy sauce, 1 teaspoon of parsley flakes and onion powder. The results were tender steaks with a sweet (not over bearing) taste. I will use this recipe again but I will decrease the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
The marinade did make the steak very tender and moist but the taste was nothing at all like Applebees Bourbon Street Steak. If that is what you are looking for this isn't it. Not even close. Won't try this again. Oh- did follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Centerview, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
My husband and I love this recipe. We use a little less bourbon, but the bourbon taste adds so much to the steak. I am not a huge bourbon fan, but these steaks are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States