Bourbon Slush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I'd be in big trouble with the family if I didn't make a batch or two of these for our 4th of July reunion each year. Liked by everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
HUGE HIT! And I came up with a way to solve the "too sweet for me/not sweet enough" dilemma, since I think that is something that comes up with most any cocktail from margaritas to highballs: in addition to offering with 7Up type beverage, I also had Club Soda next to it. Those who tend to like a less sweet drink (like me) used the soda to cut the sweetness without changing the flavor of the drink. Those who like a more "girly" sweet drink could add the 7Up in an amount pleasing to them. We entertain a great deal and this was the first pre-made drink that we've ever used that really did please everyone. One last tip: while we did use a "well" type bourbon to make the mix, we also had some "Top Shelf" Bourbon there if anyone wanted to go a little stronger. It was delicious as a small float on top of the frozen slush and really made it work beautifully. So no changes here to the actual recipe, but we did give guests the ability to customize it to their taste. 5 STARS FOR SURE!! (and I don't give 5 too often!) Happy Partying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen O.P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Washington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
We had this for a friend's party two years ago and is now requested. LOVE this drink! Making it tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I can't yet Rate it as it's just gone in the Freezer. I can say I AM SO LOOKING FORWARD TO TRYING IT!!! Small changes were: 6fl oz Frozen Orange Jc (thawed) 13fl oz Frozen Pineapple Jc (thawed) 13fl oz Frozen Lemonade (thawed) 1 Cup Sugar 350 ml White Bacardi Rum 150 ml Spiced Dark Rum 1 L each of Lemon & Lime Carbonated Sodium Free Water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This could be VERY good, but it was VERY sweet even though I omitted the sugar. Next time, I will double the tea and perhaps use tonic water instead of sprite to mix it. That should make it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I served this at our annual Kentucky Derby party this year - with several revisions - and it was a huge hit!! First of all, I served it as a punch rather than a slush. I didn't change the citrus ingredients at all but I didn't add the sugar or the tea. People raved about it and when I ran out, they were disappointed! It will definitely be a fixture at all future derby parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONASPROF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Delish. Did not use pineapple juice and used Splenda instead of sugar. Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was a big hit at my party. I only used 1/3 cup sugar and it was sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Not too impressed with this recipe. Even though I cut back on the sugar, it was way too sweet. Also, as another rater suggested, the pineapple juice overpowered the flavors. I felt like it was a waste of bourbon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Great! loved the juicy flavor, however, I think the pineapple overpowered the other flavors, so next batch I will put in less pineapple and make the tea stronger. I loved this drink and we are planning on making a few pitchers of it for vacation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Colonia, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whiskey Slush

Cool off a hot summer evening with a refreshing, icy whiskey cocktail.

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States