Bourbon Slush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
i'm giving this 4 stars since i did modify the recipe based on previous reviews: i used 12 oz. cans of both lemonade and oj, 1/2 the amount of pineapple juice, and 1/2 c. sugar. oh, and an extra cup of bourbon. super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 92DORE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
great for the beach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
SOOOO delicious! I am used to making Brandy Slush for my family but this was a great variation for my Mardi Gras party this year. Thank you for sharing. It was absolutely delightful! The tea really added to the flavor. Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MusicalCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
this is great to keep on hand for drop in company...a perfect make ahead item for a party...and everyone who tries it enjoys it - even those who "hate" bourbon! it isn't Christmas in our house 'till this is in the freezer :-) . if you are having a family get together, divide mix in half, and add the bourbon to only one half, and even the kids can enjoy. (reduce the amount of bourbon, of course!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Delicious and great for a crowd. My family enjoys this at the beach; the guys especially love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
My Dad makes this every year for Thanksgiving. Here is his recipe that has been tested to the MAX.: 12oz can OJ (not diluted) 12oz can Lemonade (not diluted) 1 cup sugar 2 1/2 cups Bourbon (we use a well) 2 cups tea (4 teabags + 2 ups boiling water) Mix together & freeze in rectangle shaped tupperware for at least 24 hrs. Scoop out into glasses & top with Champagne (my fav.) or Gingerale/Sprite/7-up/Clubsoda/Tonic We triple this recipe and never have enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Woodstock, New York, USA
Living In: Ellenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This drink is beyond good, just plain irresistable. Like many of the other reviewers, I intend to always have some ready in the freezer. A note about the lemon-lime soda....the first time I made this bourbon slush, I didn't realize I was suppose to pour the soda over the slush - I mixed the soda (7-Up) in with all the other ingredients and put it in the freezer - it was still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I'd be in big trouble with the family if I didn't make a batch or two of these for our 4th of July reunion each year. Liked by everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
HUGE HIT! And I came up with a way to solve the "too sweet for me/not sweet enough" dilemma, since I think that is something that comes up with most any cocktail from margaritas to highballs: in addition to offering with 7Up type beverage, I also had Club Soda next to it. Those who tend to like a less sweet drink (like me) used the soda to cut the sweetness without changing the flavor of the drink. Those who like a more "girly" sweet drink could add the 7Up in an amount pleasing to them. We entertain a great deal and this was the first pre-made drink that we've ever used that really did please everyone. One last tip: while we did use a "well" type bourbon to make the mix, we also had some "Top Shelf" Bourbon there if anyone wanted to go a little stronger. It was delicious as a small float on top of the frozen slush and really made it work beautifully. So no changes here to the actual recipe, but we did give guests the ability to customize it to their taste. 5 STARS FOR SURE!! (and I don't give 5 too often!) Happy Partying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen O.P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Washington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
We had this for a friend's party two years ago and is now requested. LOVE this drink! Making it tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whiskey Slush

Cool off a hot summer evening with a refreshing, icy whiskey cocktail.

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States