Bourbon Slush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
While these were very good (everyone loved them New Years Eve), I felt it was a little too sweet for my liking. Next time I think I'll use less sugar (that's just my preference). Great recipe you can make days ahead and forget about until ready to serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I've made this for years and was forced to try it because I didn't like bourbon at all. It converted me. I think the secret is to fill mug or glass with slush, pour another shot of bourbon over it and then add a splash of ginger ale, sprite or champagne, as you prefer. I keep on hand all of the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Our family has made this for years using peach brandy rather than the bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
i've been making this for years and highly recommend it. Always a party pleaser. And as another reader stated, it keeps well in the freezer so you can always keep some on hand. You can also substitute the Bourbon with som Seargrams 7.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I dislike it when people review a recipe and say how they made changes to it....lol well I am breaking my rule...this was great except for two things: (1) it made way too much - enough if you are having a party, but too much if its just 4 people one night, I will halve it next time, and (2) it was way too sweet - I will try cutting the sugar back or eliminating it all together, the OJ concentrate is super sweet enough and adding sprite too compounds the sugar. But loved the bourbon citrus taste and best of all it was nice and cool on a hot 4th of July
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
i had to make some changes based on what i had. i used whiskey and pineapple rum instead of pineapple juice and added a can of limeade conc. dangerously delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBIEA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Tip: To keep on hand for later use, store in the freezer in quart size freezer bags. Push out the air & seal (test the seal!) and lay flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Yummy! I have made this drink several times! It always get rave reviews. We take it to the beach every year. I freeze a big batch in ziploc bags then we scoop it out as needed and pour on ginger ale (diet:) I make these a little stronger than the recipes calls for - but they are good either way! OH -- and I do little or no sugar!! It is pretty sweet already with all the juices. I will sometimes add a little (1/4 cup or so)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Delish! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
It was a HUGE hit at a Mardi Gras Party I went to. People loved it! I also used Sprite Zero instead of regular sprite to cut the sweetness a little. Making it again this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Whiskey Slush

Cool off a hot summer evening with a refreshing, icy whiskey cocktail.

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States