Bourbon Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This is a good recipe! I am a fan of bourbon, so naturally I liked this sauce. My husband isn't as much of a fan of bourbon, but he really liked this recipe, too! If you are having trouble with your sauce being too runny, make sure that you drain the bag of smokies before cooking them. Also, allow the recipe to simmer to burn off some of the liquid from the bourbon. I brought the sauce to a boil with the smokies to cook off the alcohol, and then put the burner on medium. When the sauce was the consistency that I liked, I put the burner on low and covered it with a lid until I was ready to serve the smokies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
My bff made these for New Year's Eve using ketchup instead of chili sauce and meatballs instead of the sausages. I couldn't stop eating them and asked for the recipe, but forgot to write it down. I was excited to find this version. YUMMO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine32019

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I don'tknow what went wrong, but I made these just as written and the bourbon taste was so overwhelming no one liked them. Could not taste brown sugar or coctail sauce at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I didn't have any luck with these. The flavor was good but instead of a thick sauce as expected, mine ended up sitting in a pool of watery grease and my brown sugar clumped and stuck to the bottom. I added more cocktail sauce (already too sweet to add any more sugar) to try and thicken the "sauce" but it made it even more watery. I did like the additional flavor the bourbon gave them but as written this just didn't work for me. It definitely needs some tweaks in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
The flavor was nice, but the sauce was too loose, so I decided to simmer it down. This released ALL the grease, and was hideous to look at. The way to resolve that issue (or to just lower the calories of this dish period) is to boil the sausages for around 30 minutes before draining them and proceeding with this recipe as written, which is what I'll do in the future. I learned that trick from another recipe on this site :) Thanks for the recipe -- these were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I have to base my review on my friend's comments. I made a double recipe, but they were gone before I got to try them. I did cut the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Can't give it any more stars because I found these Just okay. I didn't add all the bourbon. I used 1/4 c. for each batch, and found that was enough. I did make three recipes of these for a party and they were all gone. I'm not saying it's bad but it's not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Goldman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Isle, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Delicious and simple! I browned the smokies up before adding the rest of the ingredients. After the sauce thickened a bit, I put it all into a small crockpot to simmer/keep warm until we were ready for them. I also added a big squirt of honey mustard and a splash of Frank's Red Hot. Everyone loved them - even the kids. My husband is already begging for more. He even bought more little smokies at the store today so I have to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Just made these with fresh pork sausage. They are sweet but to die for!!! Served with rice for the sauce. Will definitely make these again. Thanks for a great simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made these for a party recently. I thought the bourbon was a little strong even after doubling the amount of smokies, but they all were eaten (mostly by the men), so I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States