Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Made it for a party. Some of the comments I heard besides "delicious" were "This is definately a two plater" I did make my own version. After slow cooking 10 pounds for 14 hours, I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ma88ieMay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I just made this recipe today and it is definitely a "keeper"! My husband even said it is better than his mother's - and he's never said that before! I followed the recipe exactly except that I used a 7 pound pork shoulder (instead of 4 pounds)and the ratio of pork to sauce was perfect. (If I had used only a 4-lb. pork I'm sure it would have been swimming in sauce.) I cooked the shoulder for 6-1/2 hours, then 'pulled' it, then cooked it for another hour and a half. The mango sweetens it a bit and the chipolte chile pepper gives it a nice kick! Absolutely fabulous - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
OMG!OMG! I have been on a roll- every recipe ive tried has been great lately. Ths was no exception. This looked unusual but delish so I decided to try it. It WAS unusual but in a very good way. I ended up using more BBQ sauce than called for but thats cuz I like em saucy. Actually, I used 2 different BBQ sauces. I used 2 regular bottles of Kraft bbq sauce, and I also used part of a raspberry-chipolte bbq sauce I had in the pantry. WOW. Iam sure it would have been fine without the touch of raspberry, but MAN, it made it so good and slightly sweet. Still spicy though. I cant wait to make this again, I am running out of good things to say about it. Just give it a try, you will not be sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Oh my oh my, this is without a doubt the best pulled pork I have ever had, bar none! Anyone that makes this for the first time and tastes the juice before it's pored off, it is super spicy, but IT DOES NOT remain in the meat, just a subtle spicy zing with sweet BQ sauce. I use honey BQ sauce, it's great in this. I serve mine on a Kaiser roll with the classic spears of dill pickle. TO DIE FOR! I'm not much of a drinker and had no bourbon in the house so I went down to my local liquor store and bought a little airline size bottle of bourbon for a buck fifty and it was just perfect. If you're on the fence with this one, get off! you'll love it, I promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was very good. I had an 8 pound piece of meat so of course I doubled everything. I thought the amount of barbeque sauce was too much so I added a total of 36 ounces instead of the 48 ounces that would be required if the recipe was doubled. The meat was very tender and I am glad I did not add the full amount of barbeque sauce it would have masked the chipotle flavor and mangos. I have never been able to find chipotle chili powder so I pureed about half a can of chipotles in adobo with the mangos. If I made it again I would probably add more mangos and chipotle chilis and less barbeque sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This was my first time making pulled pork and this was a nice, easy, and very delicious introduction. I did listen to other reviewers and made the following changes: I mixed the salt, pepper and chipotle together and then rubbed the mix on the meat. After cooking, I trimmed the fat. I added only half of the sauce to the meat, and then added a bit more it to suit my preference for how saucy the pork should be. The extra sauce on the side was a nice addition. One note to those new to making this type of dish: if you can't shred the pork with two forks, it needs to cook more. When it's done, it should only take a few minutes to break it all up. Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
All the liquid had boiled off long before I checked on mine after 7 hours on low. I also only needed to cook it an additional 30 minutes instead of 1-2 hours after making the sauce. It still turned out delicious, but next time I will reduce the cooking time in the first step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memomo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
A few comments and questions to answer here: I prefer chipotle because it adds a smoky flavor I prefer in my pulled pork. When you are using a crock pot instead of a low, slow bbq, you have to catch that flavor somewhere. I use whatever bbq sauce is on sale--but only fairly plain jane flavors. Using some crazy honey-hickory-papaya sauce is just overkill to me. Very glad you all like this recipe. I honed it over several years until I was satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This was a fantastic recipe, easy to make and lasts a looooong time. (Maybe that's because it's only my boyfriend and I) I of course made a few changes to the recipe. I could not find any ripe mangoes on such short notice, so I cheated. I bought a can of mangoes and poured the juice from the can into the slow cooker instead. I also did not measure the water but poured it in after the ingredients till it covered the pork. I estimate that was about an extra cup. Also like many others I just used regular chili powder. Happy cooking and good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Griffith, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
mm mmm mmm I adapted to what I had on hand but used this as my base! I had a bourbon "marinade" rub on hand and only one mango...but a gob of mango salsa from Costco did the trick for the rest. I also had no honey (what?!) so I used Agave necter. My BBQ sauce of choice was 16 oz Jack Daniels Honey and I used hot mexican chilli powder and Mrs. Dash's chipoltle seasoning. This was NOT too hot, but definately flavorful. I know I totally played outside the lines here, but I think I captured the essence of the sauce. SO GOOD. BTW I kept the au Ju from the pork and will make a nice pasole or something! The 5th star was for EASY. I served this with "roasted" butternut squash and red potatoes that I ALSO did in the crock pot!! GET OUT!! Yes, a crock pot!! cut 'em, coat 'em in olive oil, your favorite italian seasonings & Kosher salt...heat 'em 4 hrs on high stirring occaisionally til done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeattleSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ

This pulled pork is so easy to make in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States