Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
My husband and I both work full-time, so we did the first part of prep the night before and put it in the slow cooker overnight. Then, we added the mango puree and slow cooked another 4 hours (then on warm) while we were at work. We came home to ultra-succulent pork with just the right hints of sweetness and heat. Definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Awesome! Very very good. And pretty easy. I mistakenly added the BBQ sauce to the mango mixture immediately but it still worked well. I served with fried okra and cheesey hashbrown casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Why does this come up under a search for kosher main dishes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
so delicious and easy! I added a little more heat with some cayenne and hot sauce...fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
My family and I love this recipe. After looking for a different kind of pulled pork recipe, this was perfect. I've got many favorites but I got bored. This hit the spot. I did forget the salt, I just noticed, but this is great. Thx for sharing RuggerDucky. Outstanding! If you're a BBQ junky like me, you and your family will just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Voelk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I made this for an office pot luck and it was definitely the hit of the lunch. The biggest modification I made was substitute the chipotle powder with real chiles. I used 1/2 of a small can of chipotle chiles in adobo sauce in the crock pot (coursely chopped). I used the other half when I pureed the mangos for the sauce. I also doubled the honey and bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G. Paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
The flavor wasn't as strong as I would have liked and the sauce was a bit watery. Unusual flavor that is a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by http://rachelsrecipereviews.bl
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is so good! I used honey chipotle bbq sauce. Husband loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by http://rachelsrecipereviews.bl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I made this for the first time tonight and it was fabulous!! I read a lot of the reviews and followed what a lot of others wrote....I used a 5 pound pork shoulder and did not have ripe fresh mangos and my local grocery store only had canned ones. I put the juice from the can in with the water and balsamic vinegar and cooked it for 6.5 hours on low in a crock pot. I only used 12 oz of bbq sauce and pureed both cans of mangos. I added a touch of brown sugar for sweetness as well. I only cooked the pork for an additional 30 minutes after putting the sauce on it and only used half of the sauce and saved the rest for later. Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
The BBQ sauce (Sweet Baby Ray's honey chipotle) completely overwhelmed the other flavors. It was good, but I'm not sure it would have tasted any different had we skipped the mango, chipotle powder, etc. and just soaked pork in BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande2994

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States