Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
As ande2994 pointed out already, this recipe just tastes like whatever BBQ sauce you use. Anticipating this, I only used half of the BBQ sauce suggested. I added a third mango, more honey, and more bourbon. Still, the BBQ sauce is pretty dominant. Not sure why this recipe warranted a video. It's just cook pork, dump sauce on it. All other labor and flavor wasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I made this last week and it was wonderful! I had a 7 pound pork shoulder, but used the same amounts of everything else in the recipe. Also used original Open Pit bbq sauce. It had a nice kick, just perfect. Will make this again soon (like tomorrow!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This was a great pulled pork recipe. It's not your usual run of the mill pulled pork sandwich .... But OH so GOOD! My family rated it as restaurant quality!! I never get compliments like that on a new recipe. THANKS for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Very good however a bit too sweet for my taste. Will add less mango next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Works equally well with country ribs. Incredibly tender and the sauce was perfection. Other than changing the cut of meat all else was the same. Beautiful presentation over couscous with pine nuts and asparagus bundles as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I have made this recipe several times and it turns out great each time. Always get raves from company about it! Unlike many other recipes I come across, this one does not really need adjusting or added ingredients. Although, honestly, I do not measure when I am putting together the BBQ sauce :-) Also, I use "Kinders BBQ sauce"; depending on the crowd as to whether I use their mild or hot, or a mixture of the two. I noticed when I pickup my last bottles they have an extra hot...can't wait to try this recipe with that! MMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Yum! A little messy work with the mangos. Also, I had to grind dried chipotle myself because I can't find chipotle chile powder already prepared anywhere. A little more work than I wanted to do for a slow cooker recipe but when I took one bite, everything was alright. It is delicious. I topped the pulled pork with cole slaw and served on a French roll. Yummmmmy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan
Living In: Highland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This will forever be my go to recipe for pulled pork. I make it for parties all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
These were awesome! I couldn't find the chipotle powder so I used some in a can. Just a warning, they pack a lot of heat. But everyone loved them. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAMBILALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Troy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
It took me a little while to get used to the mango but overall I enjoyed it. The more I have it the more I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States