Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Stingray
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
It was Awesome...Came out great!! I used Publix Hickory BBQ Sauce and makers Mark Bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Made this for a pot luck and was enjoyed by everyone. One word of caution, when you pull the pork make it pretty big strings as it will break down further during the final warming phase from the stirring. If you shred it too small (or just right) it will all turn into mush during that time. That was the mistake I made the first time with it. It tasted great but it looked horrible. Much better the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HillaryMorgan

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This recipe has been hangin' out in my recipe box since July 2011 - finally got around to making it. I did halve the recipe as I only had a small pork loin rather than a shoulder. I served this on baked potatoes rather than a bun and it was very well received by my family. The sauce had a nice sweetness from mango and the honey that paired nicely with the chipotle chile powder. Because I halved the recipe, I should have used 12 oz. bbq sauce. I didn't, I just poured it in until I got the consistency I was looking for. This is a great way to fix pulled pork, a recipe that I will be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
very good, tender, juicy. I was worried that the liquor would overwhelm the sauce but it was perfect! I used 4 smallish mango's sicne I had on hand and needed to use up. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlevoix, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
OK, but there are many more recipes for pulled pork on this site that are better. Gave it a 2 star because it was edible. Made exactly as stated except only used 1 T of pepper because we thought that was a lot. It was because before we added the mango/BBQ sauce the pepper is all you tasted. We didn't use all the BBQ sauce either because just with what we used that is all you could taste when we did serve it. Guess we thought there would be more mango flavor, which we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Absolutely incredible! Used the bourbon whiskey barbecue sauce from allrecipes.com for the sauce, and it was to die for! We froze the leftover pulled pork and used it for bourbon mango pulled pork soft tacos (sharp cheddar, pulled pork, shredded red cabbage, avocado slices, cilantro, and dip in cilantro sour cream) and it was by far the best meal of the year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
My family and I absolutely love this recipe! I've cooked it twice and have used different flavors of barbeque sauce and it always come out wonderfully. This is a staple in my household from this point forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
The recipe is outstanding. Make sure that you cook the pork shoulder on the long side of 5-8 hours (I'd recommend more like 8-10 hours so it's much easier to pull. The only problem with this recipe is that every time I've made it, I haven't ended up with any leftovers, only very full and happy friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I loved this recipe with just one change, I substituted the bourbon with a teaspoon of vanilla extract, and it came out amazing will definitely make in the future...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This recipe is really good if you leave it sit overnight in the fridge, it seems to mellow out the strong bourbon flavor. I wouldn't have believed it was the same recipe if I didn't know better! The only change I would make next time is I would use peaches in place of the mangos just because of the high price of mangos and I don't think the flavor was that prominent. Will make this one again, the family really enjoyed..thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ

This pulled pork is so easy to make in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States