Bourbon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
I made the frosting, frosted the cake, and ate some within an hour. The bourbon was kind of overpowering, and this is coming from someone who likes bourbon a lot. However, by the next day it had mellowed and was really tasty. Next time I would either try adding less bourbon or making it the day before I was ready to frost the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This is great on carrot cake if you reduce the amount of bourbon. I had to reduce the bourbon to 2T b/c the bourbon was overpowering and the icing became too thin. The icing is still really thin w/ 2T, but the taste more than compensates for the "thinning" look of the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMCKELLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Delicious frosting but don't let the bourbon fool you; it will taste strong when you make it but the next day you will hardly be able to taste it. Everyone loved it though !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Disappointing if you're after the bourbon flavor, which of course I was. Because I'm very familiar with this classic cream cheese frosting, what happened with this is just what I expected, so I should have known better. If you're looking for a rather thin glaze, then 5 T. of bourbon might work just fine. However, if you want a nice, thick, spreadable *frosting,* then 5 T. of bourbon is at least 4 T. too much. I used 1 T., and found I still had to add extra powdered to make it stiffer. With only that 1 T. of bourbon, we were not able to taste it at all. Whether you use bourbon or any other liquid in this cream cheese frosting recipe, start out adding a little at a time - and certainly not 5 tablespoons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Love this, used only 2 Tablespoons as other reviewers suggested -- also tried this recipe using Rum (2 tablespoons) YUM! Just tried the with 4 tablespoons of Cointreau with carrot cake, sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Delicious! I used the suggestions of other raters and substituted orange liqueur for the liquid... perfect for fall spice or carrot cakes. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This recipe right here IS the business! I followed other reviewers advice and slapped this on the A-1 Banana Cake. The folks I made it for loved it and I snuck a taste off the spatula...heaven! BTW, the bourbon isn't overwhelming, so use the alloted amount. I can't thank Pooka enough....love you for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAWineaux

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
yummy frosting. it wasn't as stiff as I wanted it to be, but tasted great. the bourbon flavor was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I made this frosting and frosted a fresh banana cake with it. Took it to a family birthday and it was a BIG hit!!! Use all of the bourbon, because the next day it really mellows out...will use this recipe again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANAM76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
It smells and tastes great. Tomorrow I will top a carrot cake with this yummy frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaPintler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States