Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by mssyann8
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I'm very sorry but the bourbon was overwhelming...I followed the recipe exactly and it tasted like I was taking a shot of bourbon instead of it just being an ingredient in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mssyann8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
my husband gave it a 5*.........said it was better then any he has had in any mall - i doubled the recipe he still raving about it the next day and wants it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I made this for a Father's day BBQ for my residents at work. I cut the marinaded chicken up into chunks and sauteed them and served them on a warm kaiser roll as a sandwich. I couldn't use bourbon so i subbed it with apple concentrate and it was delicious. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Palos Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolivar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I literally just made this tonight. I marinated 1/2 of the chicken overnight, I added another pound in the morning after inviting some friends to come over for dinner. The chicken that I added this morning tasted 1000 times better than the chicken that marinated overnight. I recommend marinating the chicken only for a few hours & not overnight. The chicken that marinated overnight was very tough. Secondly the chicken & sauce in general tasted very much like Bourbon. I recommend cutting down on the amount of Bourbon you use. It was good & I will probably make this again but next time with less Bourbon! Overall my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Best dish I have ever made! Followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. My hubby said it was one of the best meals I have ever fixed.. will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
After reading the reviews, i halved the soy sauce and substituted cheap vanilla for bourbon (i have a toddler and don't like to cook with alcohol). This was delicious! I breaded my chicken with cornstarch and fried it, then used the sauce over the top. Will definately be adding to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Using thighs instead of breasts, and a straight 1/2 cup of bourbon rather than 3 oz, I stir-fried this after only an hour's worth of marinating. After letting the marinade reduce for 20 minutes or so, it became a nice sauce. I don't know what's happened where other reviewers have had it seem like too much bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I tried this recipe and was not pleased by my outcome. I was hoping for the same flavour and tenderness as the bourbon chicken from the mall food court. The chicken was flavourful but it turns out I am not a big fan of Bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Cooked this on the stove-top as another reviewer had. I used fresh onion and garlic in place of the powdered versions, then added red pepper flakes and ginger. I replaced most of the bourbon with vanilla based on previous reviewers suggestions. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I made this just the way it is listed in the recipe. Awful is all I can say. Will be removing from my recipes. Bourbon was over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Froggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rupert, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States