Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Maybe it was the bourbon I used or maybe it was my expectations but this was awful! I don't like negative reviews without giving specifics but I'm trying to explain what I didn't like: First, the sauce burned in the oven in a glass 9x13 baking dish (if I would do over, I would put into aluminum foil packets). Second, the flavors didn't meld for me. I could taste bourbon, ginger, garlic, and soy sauce. It tasted "shallow". It needs something to add to it's richness but I'm not quite sure what. After eating one bite, I'm permanently cured of my desire for bourbon chicken so I guess that's not a bad thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Very tasty!!!! Used whiskey with a dash of vanilla extract vs. bourbon; turned out excellent!!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My husband loved this! It was very tasty, but I would like to try it with some different bourbons. (I used Knob Creek the first time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Did not like! Too much bourbon. :-( Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni Foxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blacksburg, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Chesnee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Substitution for bourbon and recipe for extra sauce to go over rice: I've made this twice and my very picky family loves it. I don't have bourbon so I sub 1 Tbs of vanilla + 2 Tbs water. If I don't plan ahead enough to marinate it overnight, I like to cut the chicken up in strips and marinate it in a ziploc for a couple hours. Then I pour the chicken and marinate in a pan, cover with foil and cook at 350 for about 45 minutes. Sauce for rice: I like to make a second batch of marinate (half the recipe this time). Then add 2 cups chicken broth to it. Bring it to a boil. Dissolve 1 Tbs of cornstarch in some cold water or broth and add that to the boiling sauce mixture and stir until slightly thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I think this recipe has potential to be really good, but the measurements of ingredients really need to be adjusted for that to happen. I thought the bourbon was overwhelming, I would use no more than 1/4 c. (and I think that's probably too much.) I would also cut the soy sauce down to 2 oz. and add an extra 1/4 c. of brown sugar. Not sure if I'll try this again even with tweaking the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made it per the directions, with the exception that I used mostly vanilla with some bourbon. I chunked the chicken and baked it in the over for about 45 minutes. It was edible and we'll eat the leftovers, but it wasn't very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
i wanna try this with turkey you think it will be good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Morales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I absolutely loved this recipe! I will definately be making it often. I doubled the recipe and it made alot. The whole family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Tried it. Liked it. I agree, it is not an Asian dish - more subtle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States