Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This is not even close to the bourbon chicken at the malls. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
We liked this recipe but next time I will use fresh grated onion and fresh minced garlic with a little less bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Used 1/4c bourbon based on other reviews, and a few dashes of onion powder sinc eI didn't have minced onion. Tastes great, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This had WAY too much bourbon! It was way too bourbon flavored and the chicken was really dry. It didn't taste anything like the chicken you get at "the mall" and I will for sure not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meetmow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This is a keeper! My picky eater boyfriend loves it, he said it tastes better than the one at Chinese restaurants. Really delicious, a little on the sweet side, but not overwhelmingly sweet. You can taste the alcohol (I used Jack Daniels), but it's not overpowering. If you do follow the recipe with exact measurement, however I'd recommend decrease the amount of the bourbon by just a liiiiitle bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
If you try this recipe with the expectation that it's going to taste like the fattening, restaurant version, you are going to be disappointed. That being said, however, it's a very flavorful and relatively healthy dish. Make it even healthier by using low sodium soy sauce and serve it over brown rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I used some of the tips from the other reviewers. I ended up marinating my chicken for over a day (I didn't have time to cook it the day I planned). It came out really good, my husband is a fan. It was great with stir fry over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
The chicken was amazing! Simply delicious. We had no leftovers. I didn't have onion flakes so I chopped a half of an onion, a tablespoon of minced garlic and sprinkled garlic salt over the chicken lightly before refrigeration overnight. The kicker was, I did not have any bourbon on hand so I used brandy on 5 boneless chicken breasts and had plenty of the marinade to cover. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. I will use it again. It was delicious, even with the brandy. My husband said "it's a keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This was okay. Nothing over the top for me. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
i love this recipe! i added a little more bourbon. and baked it as said to. then turned it into a stir fry. adding the leftover juices for flavor. cooked it till the juices were gone, and served over rice. i will make this a million times over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States