Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This is a great recipe with fabulous flavor. Made it in the crock pot with just a couple modifications. I substituted 1/4 cup vanilla extract + 1/4 cup water for the bourbon, increased the brown sugar to 3/4 cup based on other reviews, and used 4 tsp of minced garlic (not dried). I did not marinate, just cooked in crock pot for 4 hours on high and turned out delicious. Served on top of brown rice. We are adding this to our list of regular favorites! The sauce was thin, so I am thinking it would turn out fine without adding the extra water, and will probably try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Yummy! I marinaded it in the morning not overnight and I used fresh ginger because I had some. It smelled so good I couldn't wait for dinner I scooped some out and made it for lunch I'm so glad I doubled this recipe everyone had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ktbowers
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Not terrible but basically tasted like chicken marinated in soy sauce. I did let it marinate for 2 days so that was probably a mistake. I would cut back on the soy sauce next time. You couldn't taste the bourbon at all. May try again with a few tweaks. Also would cook maybe an hr, chicken was pretty dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
was not good going to try best bourbon chicken. hope that comes out better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Waaaay too much soy sauce! I had to doctor it up so the kids would attempt to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This has become a family favorite. Definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This recipe was a hit. I did make a few changes. I used dry ingredients along with 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper, 1tb redwine vinegar, 1/2 chopped onion, 4 garlic cloves minced, I used a 1/4 cup boubon and cooked on low in the slow cooker. I thickened with cornstarch. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Doesn't taste anything close to the ones in the malls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I followed the suggestions of other users, and used vanilla instead of bourbon, and also put in minced garlic. I was NOT impressed with this dish. It was kind of weird, just too "vanilla"-y of a flavor....and unfortunately I overcooked the chicken, too, which is easy to do with boneless skinless breasts. Won't be trying this again. I would love to find a great bourbon chicken recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Reinhard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Really loved it. Marinated it overnight and baked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflydays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States