Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I took advice and cut it into small pieces and put into a crock-pot on low for the day. The chicken was a little dry but the taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cobble Hill, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I used recipe to marinate a chicken, then put on the rotissere. Was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I thought this was pretty good. Not the same thing that you get at the mall, but still good. I diced my chicken into bite-sized chunks and cooked it in a skillet with the sauce. When the chicken was cooked through, I added a slurry of cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I also added a handful of chopped onion. Several reviewers said that the bourbon had a strong taste, but I didn't find it to be so. I will definately try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I made this dish for my kids and myself...my 5 year old loved it but my 7 year old wouldnt eat it. I thought it was alright. This is the first recipe I have made from this site so I am hoping they get better. This was sweet but wasn't what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
The only changes that I made were - I used chicken breast cut into bite sized pieces. Instead of baking them, I cooked them on the stovetop in a covered skillet with the marinade. When the chicken was done, I removed it and reduced the marinade to use as a sauce. My husband could not stop raving about it and requested that next time I double the recipe. Next time I think that I will cut back on the amount of brown sugar and used chopped garlic instead of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Great recipe!! to get more tender chicken i make this in the crockpot and let it all simmer all day -this also lets the "alchohol" taste burn off - very very good this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
My friends used to eat bourbon chicken in the malls nearly every day when we we were in the US for holidays. As this doesn't exist in Germany, I looked for a recipe o surprise him and he was overwhelmed! I am a vegetarian, so I split the marinade and poured half of it over 300gram of chicken breast and the other half over diced tofu. I prepared both separately in pans (fried 1/2 chopped onion in some olive oil first, then browned the chicken or tofu, then added the marinade and cooked for further 5 minutes) and it was awesome served with instant asia noodles. I had to fry the tofu longer than the chicken, though, because it soaked up much of the alcohol. But the taste vanished when the tofu was dark brown. I used about 1 ounce of soy sauce less as it was very salty the first time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This recipe was pretty good. We love bourbon chicken. There was something missing, not sure what. But over all an easy recipe and worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I don't usually like the taste of alcohol so I used vanilla extract instead of the bourbon, which turned out great. I let it marinate all morning instead of over night. I cooked it in the oven as directed for 1 1/2 hrs, but I wanted the sauce to stick to the chicken better so I transferred the sauce to a sauce pan on the stove top and added 1 Tbsp of cornstarch to thicken the sauce then added all the chicken to the stove top pan to coat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I made this recipe as is. This was OK. I think the bourben flavor was a little overpowering, especially for a non-drinker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States