Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Used 1/4c bourbon based on other reviews, and a few dashes of onion powder sinc eI didn't have minced onion. Tastes great, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This had WAY too much bourbon! It was way too bourbon flavored and the chicken was really dry. It didn't taste anything like the chicken you get at "the mall" and I will for sure not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meetmow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This is a keeper! My picky eater boyfriend loves it, he said it tastes better than the one at Chinese restaurants. Really delicious, a little on the sweet side, but not overwhelmingly sweet. You can taste the alcohol (I used Jack Daniels), but it's not overpowering. If you do follow the recipe with exact measurement, however I'd recommend decrease the amount of the bourbon by just a liiiiitle bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
If you try this recipe with the expectation that it's going to taste like the fattening, restaurant version, you are going to be disappointed. That being said, however, it's a very flavorful and relatively healthy dish. Make it even healthier by using low sodium soy sauce and serve it over brown rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I used some of the tips from the other reviewers. I ended up marinating my chicken for over a day (I didn't have time to cook it the day I planned). It came out really good, my husband is a fan. It was great with stir fry over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
The chicken was amazing! Simply delicious. We had no leftovers. I didn't have onion flakes so I chopped a half of an onion, a tablespoon of minced garlic and sprinkled garlic salt over the chicken lightly before refrigeration overnight. The kicker was, I did not have any bourbon on hand so I used brandy on 5 boneless chicken breasts and had plenty of the marinade to cover. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. I will use it again. It was delicious, even with the brandy. My husband said "it's a keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This was okay. Nothing over the top for me. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
i love this recipe! i added a little more bourbon. and baked it as said to. then turned it into a stir fry. adding the leftover juices for flavor. cooked it till the juices were gone, and served over rice. i will make this a million times over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I tried all the bourbon chicken recipes online and made some adjustments here and there, but the flavor is always a little different from the bourbon chicken I have at malls. Luckily I found a good product online at bourbonchicken.com, and their sauces are awesome! Now I can save time preparing sauce ingredients, save money from buying bourbon chicken at the shopping mall, and have a great time doing grill with my kids. The flavor becomes so easy to achieve at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This was awesome! Except for halving the recipe and using turkey instead of chicken I followed it exactly. The flavors were wonderfully and it was extremely moist. My husband didn't even realize it was turkey until I told him. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Recovery, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coldwater, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States