Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I made this dish for my kids and myself...my 5 year old loved it but my 7 year old wouldnt eat it. I thought it was alright. This is the first recipe I have made from this site so I am hoping they get better. This was sweet but wasn't what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
The only changes that I made were - I used chicken breast cut into bite sized pieces. Instead of baking them, I cooked them on the stovetop in a covered skillet with the marinade. When the chicken was done, I removed it and reduced the marinade to use as a sauce. My husband could not stop raving about it and requested that next time I double the recipe. Next time I think that I will cut back on the amount of brown sugar and used chopped garlic instead of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Great recipe!! to get more tender chicken i make this in the crockpot and let it all simmer all day -this also lets the "alchohol" taste burn off - very very good this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
My friends used to eat bourbon chicken in the malls nearly every day when we we were in the US for holidays. As this doesn't exist in Germany, I looked for a recipe o surprise him and he was overwhelmed! I am a vegetarian, so I split the marinade and poured half of it over 300gram of chicken breast and the other half over diced tofu. I prepared both separately in pans (fried 1/2 chopped onion in some olive oil first, then browned the chicken or tofu, then added the marinade and cooked for further 5 minutes) and it was awesome served with instant asia noodles. I had to fry the tofu longer than the chicken, though, because it soaked up much of the alcohol. But the taste vanished when the tofu was dark brown. I used about 1 ounce of soy sauce less as it was very salty the first time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This recipe was pretty good. We love bourbon chicken. There was something missing, not sure what. But over all an easy recipe and worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I don't usually like the taste of alcohol so I used vanilla extract instead of the bourbon, which turned out great. I let it marinate all morning instead of over night. I cooked it in the oven as directed for 1 1/2 hrs, but I wanted the sauce to stick to the chicken better so I transferred the sauce to a sauce pan on the stove top and added 1 Tbsp of cornstarch to thicken the sauce then added all the chicken to the stove top pan to coat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I made this recipe as is. This was OK. I think the bourben flavor was a little overpowering, especially for a non-drinker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
It may be luck, but my rendition of this recipe did not come out like the mall's version; it came out BETTER!! I am terrible at ad libbing, when it comes to recipes, but I tried to stay close to the orig recipe. I used all of the listed ingredients, but adjusted them all based on my own tastes. I cooked a semi-vat of chicken, so I had to toy with the individual amounts. I sample as I cook, and I too was concerned that the taste of the bourbon would be too strong. I put in almost a cup for 5.5 lbs of chicken. Initially, the bourbon was pungent, but it cooked down. I also added more garlic, ginger and onion, as required. I let my boys judge the meal...and let's just say that empty plates and rounds of 2nds and 3rds was an indicator that this recipe was a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I made this but cut out the Ginger. I think next time I will follow some others advice and cut out some of the Bourbon. When I do that I am going to replace that with Sprite/Sierra Mist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BragaBit

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I didn't give it 5 stars. Because I made it 3 times until I got the flavor i was really looking for. I partically like the "Mall" bourbon chicken. It is a great recipe to us as a base. These are some of my changes. I used chicken thighs instead of chicken breast. I seasoned the thichs with seasoning salt. I used 1/4 cup of lite soy sauce and 1/2 cup of chicken broth. I felt the recipe had a strong soy sauce flavor the first time I made it. I used fresh ginger and garlic. I used 3/4 cup of brown sugar. I used half of the marniade mixure as a marinade.I marnidaed the chicke for a couple of hours then threw it on the grill. The other half I simmered it to cook out the alcohol. Once the chicken was cooked I placed in a dish and topped the cooked chicken with the sauce. The taste is superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuleika75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramey, Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States