Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
My friends used to eat bourbon chicken in the malls nearly every day when we we were in the US for holidays. As this doesn't exist in Germany, I looked for a recipe o surprise him and he was overwhelmed! I am a vegetarian, so I split the marinade and poured half of it over 300gram of chicken breast and the other half over diced tofu. I prepared both separately in pans (fried 1/2 chopped onion in some olive oil first, then browned the chicken or tofu, then added the marinade and cooked for further 5 minutes) and it was awesome served with instant asia noodles. I had to fry the tofu longer than the chicken, though, because it soaked up much of the alcohol. But the taste vanished when the tofu was dark brown. I used about 1 ounce of soy sauce less as it was very salty the first time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This recipe was pretty good. We love bourbon chicken. There was something missing, not sure what. But over all an easy recipe and worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I don't usually like the taste of alcohol so I used vanilla extract instead of the bourbon, which turned out great. I let it marinate all morning instead of over night. I cooked it in the oven as directed for 1 1/2 hrs, but I wanted the sauce to stick to the chicken better so I transferred the sauce to a sauce pan on the stove top and added 1 Tbsp of cornstarch to thicken the sauce then added all the chicken to the stove top pan to coat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I made this recipe as is. This was OK. I think the bourben flavor was a little overpowering, especially for a non-drinker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
It may be luck, but my rendition of this recipe did not come out like the mall's version; it came out BETTER!! I am terrible at ad libbing, when it comes to recipes, but I tried to stay close to the orig recipe. I used all of the listed ingredients, but adjusted them all based on my own tastes. I cooked a semi-vat of chicken, so I had to toy with the individual amounts. I sample as I cook, and I too was concerned that the taste of the bourbon would be too strong. I put in almost a cup for 5.5 lbs of chicken. Initially, the bourbon was pungent, but it cooked down. I also added more garlic, ginger and onion, as required. I let my boys judge the meal...and let's just say that empty plates and rounds of 2nds and 3rds was an indicator that this recipe was a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I made this but cut out the Ginger. I think next time I will follow some others advice and cut out some of the Bourbon. When I do that I am going to replace that with Sprite/Sierra Mist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BragaBit

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I didn't give it 5 stars. Because I made it 3 times until I got the flavor i was really looking for. I partically like the "Mall" bourbon chicken. It is a great recipe to us as a base. These are some of my changes. I used chicken thighs instead of chicken breast. I seasoned the thichs with seasoning salt. I used 1/4 cup of lite soy sauce and 1/2 cup of chicken broth. I felt the recipe had a strong soy sauce flavor the first time I made it. I used fresh ginger and garlic. I used 3/4 cup of brown sugar. I used half of the marniade mixure as a marinade.I marnidaed the chicke for a couple of hours then threw it on the grill. The other half I simmered it to cook out the alcohol. Once the chicken was cooked I placed in a dish and topped the cooked chicken with the sauce. The taste is superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuleika75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramey, Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I used the ingredients suggested in the review by TheNakedChef, most notably using some vanilla extract & reducing the amount of bourbon. The end result was fantastic. I also used boneless/skinless chicken thighs instead. I'm normally a white meat person, but the thighs worked well with this and baked to a deep brown while remaining tender and not at all dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This is not even close to the bourbon chicken at the malls. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
We liked this recipe but next time I will use fresh grated onion and fresh minced garlic with a little less bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States