Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I didn`t have bourbon, so used white wine instead, so maybe it wasn`t as good as it should be. I followed the rest of the recipe, except I didn't have time to marinate overnight.This came out good, but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Triple the sauce amounts and pay attention to taste; add or reduce certain ingredients to get exactly what you want. Try this several times, using different whiskey brands: You might be surprised to find lesser known brands do far better than popular ones. It wasn't just "Fridays" at my house--it was the whole sweet fun weekend on just one family dinner night at my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonya
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Turned out good but I will decrease the amount of bourbon or use vanilla flavoring next time. I am not a drinker so it seemed like I was tasting a small amount of bourbon. I increased the amount of (dark) brown sugar and soy sauce to mask the taste. I also used diced chicken strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This didn't taste like any Burbon Chicken that we have had before. It was not really bad, but it is not a recipe that I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I took advice and cut it into small pieces and put into a crock-pot on low for the day. The chicken was a little dry but the taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cobble Hill, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I used recipe to marinate a chicken, then put on the rotissere. Was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I thought this was pretty good. Not the same thing that you get at the mall, but still good. I diced my chicken into bite-sized chunks and cooked it in a skillet with the sauce. When the chicken was cooked through, I added a slurry of cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I also added a handful of chopped onion. Several reviewers said that the bourbon had a strong taste, but I didn't find it to be so. I will definately try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I made this dish for my kids and myself...my 5 year old loved it but my 7 year old wouldnt eat it. I thought it was alright. This is the first recipe I have made from this site so I am hoping they get better. This was sweet but wasn't what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
The only changes that I made were - I used chicken breast cut into bite sized pieces. Instead of baking them, I cooked them on the stovetop in a covered skillet with the marinade. When the chicken was done, I removed it and reduced the marinade to use as a sauce. My husband could not stop raving about it and requested that next time I double the recipe. Next time I think that I will cut back on the amount of brown sugar and used chopped garlic instead of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Great recipe!! to get more tender chicken i make this in the crockpot and let it all simmer all day -this also lets the "alchohol" taste burn off - very very good this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States