Bourbon Chicken Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Very rich but very good. House will smell like fresh baked bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crete, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This was just so-so; glad I tried it but doubt I'll make it again (I was really excited about this, too!). It just turned out bland, even with using 1/2 c bourbon; I felt like it was a waste of good spirits. The chicken was tender enough to cut with a fork, but didn't pick up any flavor. I wonder if result would be different if bourbon was mixed in with the soup & cheese mixture. This was definately worth trying, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Not bad, but a little greasy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Credit River Township, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Savage, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
definitely not the dish we make in the south... very bland & tasted as if just poured cans of condensed soup on top & heated.. would recommend if you try this, you add other ingrediants to cut the soupy taste,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Watch the amount of salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I only used one can of cream of chicken and no cream of celery. I also used more cheese...probably about a cup of a parmasan blend. I also mixed the burbon (maybe a tablespoon or so..I didn't measure) in with the soup/chicken. I then melted the butter (about 1/4 cup) and mixed in bread crumbs in until it was crumbly. I added some garlic and onion powders then sprinkled it all over. It was pretty good! I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Very easy to make and delicious! People have already asked me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Tastes fine but the bread crumb coating didn't turn out so hot. The parts that the melted butter came into contact with made a soggy stuffing like topping. What didn't get wet stayed dry and fell apart. While it tasted good, I don't think I will make this again. Maybe the thing to do it mix the crumbs, butter and bourbon in a seperate bowl and the spead the mixture over the top of the chicken and reaming surface of the dish. Just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I've made this recipe quite a few times in the past two years, and the only real change that I usually make is to cube the chicken, rather than throwing the whole chicken breast in. This allows people to better pick their portion size, and lets more people enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Circleville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Good recipe, but I agree with skipping on the butter. I also made this dish with a can of ettoufee mix, one can of cream of celery and one can of cream of shrimp. I added various herbs and spices and I love it this way also. You can definitely play this recipe up. Thanks. Also, my 2 year old will actually eat meat this way, YEAH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States