Bourbon Chicken Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
I did not like the texture of this dish. I think it would have been better to have a breaded chicken cutlet wit a bourbon sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
VERY good & tender! I seasoned the chicken first, though. Substituted cream of mushroom soup & cheddar cheese soup because I didn't have the other ingredients. I imagine there are many subs & variations to this recipe - and all delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
A very easy recipe! I made this for a few friends on New Year's Eve, & they really liked this dish. I served it with steamed rice, which worked wonderfully with the sauce. I did not have cream of celery, but used a can of cream of chicken with about a 1/2 can of milk to help keep it liquidy. I gave this 4 instead of 5 stars because I really did not like the bourbon in the sauce - it made it a bit bitter. Next time, I think I'll try it without the whiskey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
This is a winner! I only used one can of cream of chicken soup based on other reviews that the sauce was "gloppy" and too thick. My sauce was perfect. I also seasoned my chicken with a little garlic powder before topping with the soup and cheese mixture. Baked for 45 minutes at 350 degrees and the chicken was melt in your mouth tender. Next time, I'm going to add sliced mushrooms to the dish. But the recipe is great even without making modifications. Try it - - you'll enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This has become one of our favorites!! I use less butter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
I added a little cajun seasoning to the chicken before putting the sauce and toppings on. Very tasty! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBSEY95

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Durham, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
DELICIOUS!!! I wouldn't change a thing. Very rich and creamy. Very tasty. Very easy to make. Thank you so much, Sally! This one is a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This was quite good and very easy to prepare. I used only cream of chicken soup(all I had on hand), and added two stalks of chopped up celery. Also reduced the amount of butter a lot and served dish over white rice. The bland rice balanced out the richness of the sauce nicely. Also, it did not need to be baked quite as long a recipe states to get chicken fully cooked(was 195 degrees at center after about 45 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
great recipe! I used only cream of chicken soup, but mixed with the seasoning packet from a box of stuffing, then used the stuffing in place of bread crumbs. served with garlic mashed potatoes it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
Bland is the verdict on this one and the sauce was so thick it was sticky. Served over rice made a colossal mess of what looked like slop. The only good thing was the chicken breasts came out wonderfully tender and juicy, albeit not too flavorful. Am deleting this one from my box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States