Bourbon Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KevinBerry7406
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
These were a huge hit at a holiday party this year. I used 1/3 cup bourbon and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinBerry7406

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This recipe really should be less then 3 stars. I ended up adding a 1/4 cup of corn syrup to make the balls hold together. I used rum and the flavor was good. It would probably work well with kahlua. I may try it again with a different liqour and no nuts. More corn syrup is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swain, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by denauss
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Delisious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Oh boy,these are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Very good and very easy to make. I used spiced rum instead of bourbon. I used a plastic 1 Tblspn to measure each ball and they were a tiny bit less than an inch in size and I got 28 rum balls. Will be making more. I used my food processor to chop then grind the vanilla wafers and the pecans were ground small as well. A keeper! Will add this to my holiday making list. Thanks for sharing this great recipe! Good and simple ingredients most of which you have on hand.. these are my faves! thanks again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
The finer you can get your vanilla wafers and pecans, the easier it will be to roll into balls. I use a food processor and this works great! I followed this recipe to a "T" and the bourbon balls were the hit of the party (for those who like bourbon to begin with). But I don't like bourbon - hate the stuff actually, lol - so I made some with rum and they were equally as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I have made this recipe before many times with 1 change, I made mine with left over cake trimmings. I make a lot of cakes. Doesn't matter what flavor it is. I just wrap the cake trimmings in saran doubled and then wrap with foil and freeze until you get enough to do some serious baking. It will last for months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Living In: Berryville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I used Wild Turkey 101 and they were a bit strong...may try a lesser bourbon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I did not have light corn syrup so used dark instead. The amount of liquor in the recipe is fine! They taste a lot like bourbon- I'd be scared to double it. My co-workers all loved this, except for one woman who just doesn't like bourbon. I also put the wafers into my food processor. About one-third of a box of nilla gave me the cup of crumbs. Also, I only got 30 balls and used a teaspoon for making them. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
yes ,but I prefer my fathers it is close. instead of bourbon he used rum and brandy (1c dark rum, 1c lemon hart 151proof rum, 1c brandy, mixed.) the two cups left over we would use for the tom and jerry's at Christmas or a hot drink after snowmobiling. -- Horsewithnoname
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States