Bourbon Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I just made these today for a Christmas party this weekend. It was funny...when I was measuring the 1/4 shot of bourbon I thought, "what the heck, that doesn't seem like enough" and gave it a quick shot more. Do not try this at your home!! I used Jim Beam Black and they are strooooong! But whose complaining? I like them. But then again, I like the taste of Bourbon. These have turned out great and I will be making them often...using only the amount of bourbon called for, of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I've been making these for years as gifts and my family can't get enough. I used graham cracker crumbs and often add more bourbon than called for. The confectioners sugar soaks in so dust them again just before serving. a melon ball scoop works well for me, just scoop into batter, then tap hard into a plastic bowl, finish rounding off with buttered hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
OH!! This has got to be the best recipe I have found for Bourbon Balls! It doesnt have a real strong Bourbon taste just enough. Thanks Pamela!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMDAD4KIDDIES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe! Even though I tripled the recipe I came out with 52 pieces instead of 154. I also will place them in a cool dark place and sprinkle with more bourbon once a week until Christmas! Be careful! I made these one year and a friend of mine got drunk eating too many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
These are so good. If you have trouble rolling into balls, just refrigerate for a little bit. These have been a real hit in Iraq and brought some joy to my husband and the soldiers he works with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife892

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I made these tonight, followed the recipe exactly, except it didn't take quite all the liquid.Balled up nicely & they are now "aging" in the fridge. I'm sure they'll be a hit at tomorrow night's party. I used a spiced rum. Thanks for the recipe, Pamela
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodeats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
These are always a hit in my Christmas gift baskets. I make them several days in advance and leave out for 24 hours. Then I refrigerate for a few days. I find that the taste mellows the longer you wait to serve them.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I've made this recipe with both bourbon and rum and both turned out great. You definately have to like whatever alcohol you use when making these because every bourbon ball recipe i've ever tried has a strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by winecanine
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Very good! I roasted my own pecans and added 1/4 tsp. of Penzey’s double-strength vanilla extract. I’ve made this recipe twice so far, with consistent results and rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I give these as gifts for christmas.Everyone loves them and they are so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States