Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and found what others said. Too soupy and had to add more meat. Gumbo was just ok. Lots of work and not sure if the outcome was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Num, num! This recipe was the first time I have ever tried gumbo or Cajun food. I made it twice because a friend of mine who lived in Louisiana for a while asked me to make her some more :) The main change I made the second time was less oil in the roux - I cut it to 1/2 cup. The flavor was as good or better and I didn't have to skim a ton of oil off the top. I had to use dried red chiles, but it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
WOW... Made as the recipe was written... perfect blend of spices. not too hot not bland either. loveded it and will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Let me start by saying, this was my first time having and making gumbo. I did not really know what to expect, so I just followed the recipe exactly. My advice; toss out the directions for the Roux and do some research if you are like me and have not made one before. From my understanding you need to heat the oil FIRST, then add the flour, stirring constantly until reaching the desired color. Another thing that is lacking is what shade of brown, a Roux can be anything from a light brown to almost black. I would also double the sausage, chicken and shrimp. That said, it was actually tasty, though I am fairly certain that my roux was done wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
If I could give 10 stars here, I would. This recipe is AMAZING! I have served it multiple times and everyone tells me that it is the best thing they have ever eaten. I do go easy on the spice though...half McCormick & half Tony's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I am prefacing this by saying I've never had gumbo before so this was my first time. It may have be that I just don't really care for gumbo...I thought the flavor was just ok. I definitely had to add tabasco sauce. I cut the recipe in half and it still made a giant pot of gumbo. Neither myself nor by husband really thought much of the dish so I'm not sure what to do with the leftovers that I've frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Substituted jalapenos for chilis. Didn't use celery. Added shrimp last minute. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I eat the chicken and sausage gumbo soup from Campbell's and was so excited to make the real thing. I made it exactly as the recipes specified (minus the shrimp) and I did not care for itl. WAY WAY too much oil and too much creole seasoning. I ended up draining all the liquid from it and serving it over rice to kill some of the overpowering taste of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Best gumbo ever. I used 1/2 cup of olive oil and a little less flour. My family loved this gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Magnolia, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 500) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States