Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Loved it. Better on Day 2... Added roasted poblanos. mmm. Next time, less sodium based cajun seasoning because it was a bit salty and i will add okra. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Outstanding...added the beer as suggested by Lupe. Served it at a dinner party of 12, they all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
So another commenter was right--it IS all about the roux. I used 1/2 cup of butter (instead of oil) and 1/2 cup of flour on almost medium heat for about 10 minutes total to get the darker brown peanut butter color. Also used Shiner Bock bear, 2.5 quarts of chicken broth, 2 chicken breasts, 3 chicken sausages, and 2 cups each of celery, onion, and carrot, as well as added in some zucchini. To make it a more balanced meal, it needed the extra vegetables. Be careful with adding the cajun/creole seasoning. Start with less than 1/4 cup and add to your taste. It would have been way too salty and spicy if I had added the full 1/2 cup. The smell is phenomenal, and it tastes just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Really good. I only used 2 quarts of chicken stock (my pot was too small), and kept all the other ingredient amounts the same, and it turned out great. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dezzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I have used this recipe several times, and been very satisfied with the results! I must confess that I have made a lot of alterations, but the recipe is very forgiving. I use more chopped vegetables than the recipe calls for, and substitute Andouille sausage (Amy's has a tasty chicken Andouille sausage that I like). Shrimp may be omitted for those who don't like them. I found 1/4 cup Cajun seasoning WAY too salty, so start with about a tablespoon and add more to taste. I found that this recipe omits two super-important ingredients (in my opinion): okra (I use about 1-2 cups frozen) and gumbo file powder (ground sassafrass leaves). Gumbo file gives it a special flavor that is very distinct, and also acts as a thickener, very traditional in a Creole gumbo. Overall, this is a delicious and reliable recipe that you can easily make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Very good Gumbo. I liked that it had chicken, sausage AND shrimp and it was very easy to play with if you wanted it hotter or more mild
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Lots of ingredients but easy and great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Holy Smokes! This was fantastic! My boyfriend refuses to eat sausage, but even he nom'd this stuff down. A word to the wise, though -- if you choose to add your own spices (like I did, and like many do), watch it with the cayenne. I may have OD'd on it. While it did not render this fabulous gumbo inedible, it definitely packed a wallop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HarleyQuinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phillips, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This is SO GOOD. I changed it to a pescetarian version, so I used tofurky sun-dried tomato sausages in place of the pork sausage, and I used salted vegetarian bullion in place of the chicken broth. I also used habanero powder in place of the chile peppers, and used half of the cajun seasoning that the recipe calls for. I also obviously didn't use chicken. Oh, and I used dos equis as my beer. The result was a DELICIOUS spicy, very well-rounded gumbo. It was a bit on the soupy side, which I like, but if you want a thicker soup I would maybe use 2 quarts of broth instead of 3. Can't recommend this recipe more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States