Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is a winner every time! Even my 3 year old loves this gumbo! The only change we make is omitting the diced pepper and using less broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Everyone LOVED this recipe. It was too spicy for me, cause I'm a whimp. lol The flavor was amazing, but I'll have to leave the pepper out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is one of about 3 recipes that I will actually make over and over again! The first time I made it, we had a first-time dinner guest, and he actually asked to take some home with him!!! I follow ingredients to the letter, however, after the meat browning and making the roux, I dump everything in the crockpot on high for about 4 hours (I add the shrimp in the last 20 minutes). It is perfect. It is very, VERY spicy though due to the temp of the cajun seasoning I used. Everyone eating loves spicy food so it was just perfect for us. This really is a five star recipe and I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CaliAngel
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I had been using the same gumbo recipe for over 20 years when I came across this recipe. I decided to make it based solely on the number of positive reviews it has received. Well it is now my new gumbo recipe. This was wonderful.....the taste is outstanding. It does require a bit of prep time. After reading many of the reviews I decided to stay with the amount of broth in the recipe. So glad I did. Many stated it was runny, but luckily I didn't encounter that issue. Most likely because I increased the amount of both meats and the shrimp. We are serious carnivores! And since my sweetie was born and raised in Louisiana I had to add okra and 2 tablespoons of file ( can't imagine making gumbo without it). Since the file also acts as a thickening agent the consistency was perfect. I also didn't encounter the issue others mentioned of it being oily. The roux came out a beautiful brown color. I used a can of Stella Artois beer, and Slap Your Mama Cajun seasoning. I did not use the total amount of seasoning, simply because the broth, meat and sausage also added flavor. I believe it would have been too salty. The man from Louisiana said it was one of the best gumbo's he has ever had! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made some adjustments to the recipe based on comments and I LOVED the end result!! I used 3 cans (43.5 oz) chicken stock, used a package of 6 boneless, skinless chicken thighs (1 inch cubed), and replaced the shrimp with an extra 4 oz of sausage since my roommate and I don't care for shrimp, (I used 12 oz of andouille sausage, which you can get at most super markets). I have a "World Market" store near me and I used 2 5-inch fresh, red chili peppers. Those gave this more than a kick, but not too much. I like spice for flavor, but not for sport. Maybe use 1 or 1.5 if you're not into your mouth tingling (but not burning) throughout the meal. I'll be making this long into the future!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffern, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This recipe was EVERYTHING! The flavored were a melody in my mouth. My "Better Half" loved it! It was easy and I will be making it again really soon! Being a Louisiana native and resident, this is my new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carlena
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I really love this recipe all though I have made a few changes to it. I do 1.5 lbs of chicken i.5 lbs sausage 1.5 lbs of shrimp 14oz can tomatoes 1 can chillies 1 bag frozon okra 1 jalapeno 2 pinch red chilli 2 tablespoons salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Excellent! Produced groans of happiness from hubby. Used less chicken broth & more crushed tomatoes, canned green chiles instead of fresh, and less Cajun seasoning. It makes a BIG pot... 10 servings? That must be based on feeding 10 hungry linebackers- ? Lots of leftovers, but looking forward to enjoying more! *Cajun seasoning we used (Dinosaur BBQ Cajun Foreplay) was very salty, so reducing the amount, using about 2/3 of the 1/4 cup called for, was a good decision. Turned out just right! MmmmMmmMmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I love this recipe. I've made it twice and I'm going to make it again this weekend. I do add a chopped green bell pepper and a few little chunks of okra. It is wonderful. Patience is the key to this dish. Get that roux nice and brown. It just adds more richness to the wonderful broth. Can't wait for tomorrow so I can make it and eat it. My husband is a huge fan of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States