Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Fabulous!!! Hit the spot!! We love it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This recipe had WONDERFUL flavor! I wish I had seen the other reviews about adding more meat or not adding so much liquid. I had too much liquid at the end but I can add some noodles to it for a flavorful noodle soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I followed this one as closely as I could, and it turned out great! I'll make a few tiny adjustments next time just to suit my taste, but this is a good solid recipe. Thanks y'all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lord Burghley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was good, but to me and my family, it just didn't seem like a REAL gumbo. And it was quite salty. I think I'll just keep looking for that down home gumbo I'm used to. But if I ever make this again, I will definitely half the recipe, as this could have served closer to 20 people than 10. And will try to add my own flair into it to improve upon it. Just okay for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenMama88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gulfcoastjess
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Lupe and Jason, A++++ on your gumbo!!! I darn near followed it to a tee, but had to make a few changes based on what I had and bc I wanted it to be my own. Used 1/4 cup butter and 3/4 c olive/canola oil blend and the 1 c flour. Roux seemed thin, only cause i'm used to gravy. It does take 30-35 minutes (of constant stir/mixing) to get browned enough. Roux is key. Used a whole lb of Andouille sausage, shredded the breast meat of a cooked chicken and 2, yes 2 pounds of shrimp (51-60 ct) Shrimp went in at the end of cooking.Also, used Margeret Holmes Tomatoes and Okra (2 cans). Served with rice and a glass of wine, didn't have any Zydeco music.... maybe for breakfast.? So good!!!!! Thanks for sharing!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Followed exactly turned out great! Thanks for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashlee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
So delicious. Everyone raves about it when I make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is a great variation! I really enjoy my family's gumbo so i was a little nervous to try something new. To my surprise it was very flavorful and my kids ate it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
My husband and family loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This was very good. I cooked my roux for almost an hour. The results were beautiful. Followed the recipe pretty closely resulting in a very flavorful, relatively mild gumbo. Was perfect for the family, I added some tabasco to boost mine a but.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike N

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States