Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
followed directions to the "T".... sorry not impressed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
omg was this ever good. I added Okra to mine and didnt have any red peppers. Still it is so good. will be a keeper for me. yummmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Delicious! The hubby and I prefer a thicker gumbo so we left out 1 qt of chicken broth and it was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
My family loves this Gumbo and I have picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Excellent gumbo recipe. I made this weeks ago but didn't have any cajun seasoning or red pepper, but the 1/4 cajun seasoning and the pepper really spices this up and makes it delicious instead of just good. I made the roux a dark brown and let the cajun seasoning heat up with the roux. I also used half a cup of olive oil and added some butter to make the roux. I know, it's annoying when people make changes in the recipe, but this recipe is good just as it is or gives you some wiggle room to change things up a bit and make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I used canned tomatoes instead of fresh plums, it cooks down so you can't tell if they're fresh or not. I also used rotel brand and bud light. I'm from Louisiana and this gumbo recipe is AWESOME just as good as recipes with 3 hour rouxs. A+++ and my diner guests agreed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGallant7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Fabulous, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Laroche

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I swore I would follow the recipe exactly, right down to the cornbread and beer! But I felt that the amount of meat needed to be increased for all the broth. I used a whole pack of chicken tenderloins (1 1/2 lbs) and 2 packs of Andouille sausages (2 lbs), kept shrimp at 1 lb. It was excellent but I do think that 3 qts of broth is still too much. The flavor was fabulous! I cheated and used boil in the bag rice - I was serving 10 people! This made a VERY large amount. I would say it serves 16 at least. The key is the roux, stir for 30 minutes. You want it to be the color of peanut butter. Get your jar out and compare! Definitely worth the work! I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Added cooked rice to the recipe and it was perfect. (Would have been perfect without it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zusjames

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States