Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
We loved this! But, I did change a couple of things......yes, I'm one of those people! Instead of olive oil, I used a stick of butter and bacon drippings to make the roux. It took a good 40+ minutes of constantly stirring to get it that perfect dark brown color. Also, I simmered chicken thighs in the broth, bone-in, skin on & removed both upon serving. It just wouldn't be southern cooking without the fat! I only used 2 TBSP. of cajun seasoning as the type I have on hand is way too salty. For the sausage I used anduoille and didn't add the shrimp until the very end after it was taken off the burner, otherwise followed this recipe. It was a perfect blend of spiciness with smokiness. And of course, served it with rice which helped tone the heat down a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
OMG! This was AMAZING!!! Great recipe. I did add a pinch of thyme, gumbo file and a bay leaf but my whole family was licking their bowls!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I added a pound of Crab Meat and deleted the chili peppers and yummy great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qtewashington

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I didn't have any beer, so I omitted it. This was still very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Wow, so good! I've never had gumbo before and I'm a believer. I wasn't sure what was meant by "red chile peppers" so I used a single (green) Serrano pepper in my half-recipe and it was a bit TOO spicy! Next time I'll leave out some of the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
WOW this is a fantastic recipe!! The only modifications we made were to add a can of tomato paste and some cooked rice at the very end. The flavor is amazing!! My husband asked for double the amount of sausage and chicken next time - but I think it's great as-is. We will definitely make this again - and have it in our rotation of favorite recipes. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Excellent! The parsley adds a freshness to the rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight. I cut the chicken broth to 80 oz and added 16 oz of water. I used Zataran's creole seasoning- 3 tablespoons, and file powder, didn't measure, just added until it tasted right. I used three whole jalapenos chopped fine, and I sauteed the vegetables in a little olive oil/butter and then added to the broth mixture. For my roux, I used 1/2 cup olive oil and 1 stick of real butter, I think butter adds a depth to the flavor, but that is just a personal preference. Served with rice and cornbread. This is a keeper. Next time I will add okra, I would have this time, but I didn't have any fresh or frozen. It is kind of spicy, but we like it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roaring River, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mocksville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This Is very tasty , a little spicy so my kids didn't eat very much ... But my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Great recipe! Subbed chicken breasts with boneless chicken thighs. Added frozen okra and finished with gumbo file. Reduced the amount of cajun seasoning to 2 TBS (because of the salt) but added some hot sauce for heat. Also cooked some white rice and added it to the gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States