Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Really good. I only used 2 quarts of chicken stock (my pot was too small), and kept all the other ingredient amounts the same, and it turned out great. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dezzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I have used this recipe several times, and been very satisfied with the results! I must confess that I have made a lot of alterations, but the recipe is very forgiving. I use more chopped vegetables than the recipe calls for, and substitute Andouille sausage (Amy's has a tasty chicken Andouille sausage that I like). Shrimp may be omitted for those who don't like them. I found 1/4 cup Cajun seasoning WAY too salty, so start with about a tablespoon and add more to taste. I found that this recipe omits two super-important ingredients (in my opinion): okra (I use about 1-2 cups frozen) and gumbo file powder (ground sassafrass leaves). Gumbo file gives it a special flavor that is very distinct, and also acts as a thickener, very traditional in a Creole gumbo. Overall, this is a delicious and reliable recipe that you can easily make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Very good Gumbo. I liked that it had chicken, sausage AND shrimp and it was very easy to play with if you wanted it hotter or more mild
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Lots of ingredients but easy and great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Holy Smokes! This was fantastic! My boyfriend refuses to eat sausage, but even he nom'd this stuff down. A word to the wise, though -- if you choose to add your own spices (like I did, and like many do), watch it with the cayenne. I may have OD'd on it. While it did not render this fabulous gumbo inedible, it definitely packed a wallop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HarleyQuinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phillips, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This is SO GOOD. I changed it to a pescetarian version, so I used tofurky sun-dried tomato sausages in place of the pork sausage, and I used salted vegetarian bullion in place of the chicken broth. I also used habanero powder in place of the chile peppers, and used half of the cajun seasoning that the recipe calls for. I also obviously didn't use chicken. Oh, and I used dos equis as my beer. The result was a DELICIOUS spicy, very well-rounded gumbo. It was a bit on the soupy side, which I like, but if you want a thicker soup I would maybe use 2 quarts of broth instead of 3. Can't recommend this recipe more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and found what others said. Too soupy and had to add more meat. Gumbo was just ok. Lots of work and not sure if the outcome was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Num, num! This recipe was the first time I have ever tried gumbo or Cajun food. I made it twice because a friend of mine who lived in Louisiana for a while asked me to make her some more :) The main change I made the second time was less oil in the roux - I cut it to 1/2 cup. The flavor was as good or better and I didn't have to skim a ton of oil off the top. I had to use dried red chiles, but it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
WOW... Made as the recipe was written... perfect blend of spices. not too hot not bland either. loveded it and will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States