Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Great flavor! Only thing different I did was went heavy on Cajun seasoning for extra added zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
LOVE this recipe. Now we are vegetarians who do eat seafood. so I adjust it..using the fake chicken...and the fake brats for the meat part. I add the shrimp just before we served it..a few minutes is all it needs to cook. I use a good strong beer..like beck or guiness. Oh I have made this several times..making it again tomorrow night for guests..and yes yes yes..this is the BEST. I just got back from NOLA our favorite city in the USA and this recipe rivals all that we saw there (not many vegetarian versions I must admit ha ha)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I never thought I could make "real" gumbo. WOW, it was awesome. I will have to say that I think the trick is in the roux. I browned mine till dark brown almost ashy using the sausage drippings also. I used an extra can of broth and added okra and corn. After bringing all to a boil I threw it into my crockpot minus the shrimp. The last hour of cooking I added in some of the rice to soak up some flavor and oil. Before serving I did the shrimp in the skillet and then served by adding rice to bowl, then soup and topped with 5-6 of the shrimp. I had a lot left over so I froze and will do the same when reheating....making shrimp fresh and adding it last. I will have to say that the beer did enhance the flavour I used Fosters. I cut up fresh jalapenos and chillies to serve on the side for those that wanted more heat. Served with Sweet Jalapeno cornbread! YUMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Dunlap Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Delicious, but very labor intensive! I also wasn't prepared for how much it made. My normal spaghetti pot was overflowing. Next time, I'll buy a bigger pot! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
amazing. but take time with the roux. and make sure not to stir with a plastic spoon or spatula... because you'll be stirring for a while and parts of the plastic may melt off into the roux. (not that that happened to us and we had to start over or anything...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
We liked it but next time I will add more heat to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catbrowning
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
We LOVED this!!! This was my first ever attempt to make gumbo... it tasted exactly like I wanted it to!! Beautiful recipe. I didn't have a red chili, so I used a fresh jalepeno. It was fine. I used a couple of spoonfuls of bacon grease in my roux - FANTASTIC! I didn't add the shrimp until the whole pot of gumbo was done.. then I dumped them in long enough to cook through then served it all over brown rice. HOKEY FRIGHT I am now of the belief that I CAN COOK EXCELLENT GUMBO! lol Thank you Lupe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Jane~

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I was feeling lazy so I used precooked frozen Tyson cubed chicken to cut down some of the cooking time. I also omitted the red chile peppers to cut some of the heat for my kids. I increased the meat all around to keep the husband happy. Great flavor still a little spicy for my kids even though they were the one begging me to make it thanks to watching the princess and the frog. Served over rice with cornbread and a gallon of milk LOL. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Photo by RAPTORSHARK
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I precooked 2 chicken breasts in slow cooker then shredded, used 30oz of smoked sausage, 3 cans low sodium chicken broth, 1 can busch, 1 can diced tomatoes and 1 can crushed tomatoes, green chiles, red bell pepper, celery, onion, parsley, a lot of seasonings that I like. I followed directions for the roux, and served over brown rice. Thank you for the recipe idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPTORSHARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
yes, you read that right, 1 C olive oil/1 C flour. It was fantastic, take the time to brown the roux at least as dark as peanut butter. I used an oktoberfest beer; and 3 qts stock would be WAAAY too much fluid. I used about 1 qt stock, but just add a cup or two at a time until it's a little bit too thick. When you add the veggies.....and then the shrimp 10 min before serving, it will thin a bit more, or you can always add a bit more stock to bring it to the thickness you like. Top with red pepper flakes and serve over rice,rave, rave, rave........what unbelievable flavor the beer adds!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States