Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight. I cut the chicken broth to 80 oz and added 16 oz of water. I used Zataran's creole seasoning- 3 tablespoons, and file powder, didn't measure, just added until it tasted right. I used three whole jalapenos chopped fine, and I sauteed the vegetables in a little olive oil/butter and then added to the broth mixture. For my roux, I used 1/2 cup olive oil and 1 stick of real butter, I think butter adds a depth to the flavor, but that is just a personal preference. Served with rice and cornbread. This is a keeper. Next time I will add okra, I would have this time, but I didn't have any fresh or frozen. It is kind of spicy, but we like it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roaring River, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mocksville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This Is very tasty , a little spicy so my kids didn't eat very much ... But my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Great recipe! Subbed chicken breasts with boneless chicken thighs. Added frozen okra and finished with gumbo file. Reduced the amount of cajun seasoning to 2 TBS (because of the salt) but added some hot sauce for heat. Also cooked some white rice and added it to the gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I cut it down to about 2 Tbsps each of oil and flour and got the same great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Br0k3nH3arts
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I never had gumbo before (maybe something from a can once upon a time) let alone made it. I thought it was great. I added okra to mine for the heck of it. It worked out well I think. The only thing I will do differently is add more seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
little less salt, other than that it was new Orleans in michigan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Great recipe! I would lower the amount of liquid and add more meat but overall definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I tried this recipe and I just love it I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
From a deep South LA girl: Really tasty recipe, but needed one big revision, in my opinion. Made as is, this recipe is way hotter than many of us even in S LA like it! Contrary to popular opinion, Cajun food is supposed to be spicy as in flavorful with lots of seasoning, not so hot you can't eat it. Most Mexican food we eat is way hotter than our good Cajun food. That being said, as we eat it is still way too hot for most Yankees. Anyway, it is better without the 2 TBSP fresh chilis and I prefer only 1 - 2 TBSP of Tony's Creole -- each seasoning is different, but 1/4 cup of Tony's would be so salty we'd gag eating it, and we like things pretty salty compared to most. Having always made my roux with butter rather than olive oil, which is our traditional way, I was interested to try the oil. It turned out very well, good for those people who believe butter is bad for you. Not being a believer in that theory (since most of my family lived to 100 or so eating tons of butter and animal fats their whole lives), I will probably use butter most of the time. I also use chicken thighs rather than breasts. Don't put the garlic in the roux as that burns too easily. Sautee veggies first. Add 1 cup Okra last 10 min. Not liking overcooked shrimp, I sautee them separately in garlic-infused butter (2 TBSP) w/ bit of salt and pepper for 3 minutes. Also, put in 1/2 lb sausage for flavor, but serve another 1 lb fried sausage with the cooked shrimp on top of ea serving. Then, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justa Vets Wife
Living In: Berryville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Came out more like soup. I will cut back on the chicken broth next time. I used chicken thighs to make my own broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 21-30 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States