Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
From a deep South LA girl: Really tasty recipe, but needed one big revision, in my opinion. Made as is, this recipe is way hotter than many of us even in S LA like it! Contrary to popular opinion, Cajun food is supposed to be spicy as in flavorful with lots of seasoning, not so hot you can't eat it. Most Mexican food we eat is way hotter than our good Cajun food. That being said, as we eat it is still way too hot for most Yankees. Anyway, it is better without the 2 TBSP fresh chilis and I prefer only 1 - 2 TBSP of Tony's Creole -- each seasoning is different, but 1/4 cup of Tony's would be so salty we'd gag eating it, and we like things pretty salty compared to most. Having always made my roux with butter rather than olive oil, which is our traditional way, I was interested to try the oil. It turned out very well, good for those people who believe butter is bad for you. Not being a believer in that theory (since most of my family lived to 100 or so eating tons of butter and animal fats their whole lives), I will probably use butter most of the time. I also use chicken thighs rather than breasts. Don't put the garlic in the roux as that burns too easily. Sautee veggies first. Add 1 cup Okra last 10 min. Not liking overcooked shrimp, I sautee them separately in garlic-infused butter (2 TBSP) w/ bit of salt and pepper for 3 minutes. Also, put in 1/2 lb sausage for flavor, but serve another 1 lb fried sausage with the cooked shrimp on top of ea serving. Then, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berryville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Came out more like soup. I will cut back on the chicken broth next time. I used chicken thighs to make my own broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This recipe is awesome! I use Shiner Bock beer. Chicken is thrown in a crock pot frozen, then shredded after 8 hours-it works perfectly. I use much less chicken broth with my gumbo though. My in-laws from the north love this. It's one of my wife's favorite meals now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This came out really good but I tell you we didn't add the red chile nor cayenne pepper in our house made cajun seasoning and it was plenty spicy from the Rotel tomato and chili and I used the mild one. We are not faint spice eaters either but any hotter wouldn't have made this enjoyable. I added okra as well as others had recommended. Will be making again definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Being an Ohio native and never having gumbo in my life I thought I would try this. Never having gumbo I wouldn't know if I had it right or not. I followed this recipe to a tee and then took some to my brother in law who grew up in Louisiana (LSU Grad) and has eaten it his entire life. All he told me was I had better keep this recipe because it was one of the best gumbos he has ever tasted, followed up by a quick "sorry ma and grandma". I would suggest this one to anyone looking for a gumbo recipe. This has made me a true gumbo lover !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is a winner every time! Even my 3 year old loves this gumbo! The only change we make is omitting the diced pepper and using less broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Everyone LOVED this recipe. It was too spicy for me, cause I'm a whimp. lol The flavor was amazing, but I'll have to leave the pepper out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is one of about 3 recipes that I will actually make over and over again! The first time I made it, we had a first-time dinner guest, and he actually asked to take some home with him!!! I follow ingredients to the letter, however, after the meat browning and making the roux, I dump everything in the crockpot on high for about 4 hours (I add the shrimp in the last 20 minutes). It is perfect. It is very, VERY spicy though due to the temp of the cajun seasoning I used. Everyone eating loves spicy food so it was just perfect for us. This really is a five star recipe and I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CaliAngel
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I had been using the same gumbo recipe for over 20 years when I came across this recipe. I decided to make it based solely on the number of positive reviews it has received. Well it is now my new gumbo recipe. This was wonderful.....the taste is outstanding. It does require a bit of prep time. After reading many of the reviews I decided to stay with the amount of broth in the recipe. So glad I did. Many stated it was runny, but luckily I didn't encounter that issue. Most likely because I increased the amount of both meats and the shrimp. We are serious carnivores! And since my sweetie was born and raised in Louisiana I had to add okra and 2 tablespoons of file ( can't imagine making gumbo without it). Since the file also acts as a thickening agent the consistency was perfect. I also didn't encounter the issue others mentioned of it being oily. The roux came out a beautiful brown color. I used a can of Stella Artois beer, and Slap Your Mama Cajun seasoning. I did not use the total amount of seasoning, simply because the broth, meat and sausage also added flavor. I believe it would have been too salty. The man from Louisiana said it was one of the best gumbo's he has ever had! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made some adjustments to the recipe based on comments and I LOVED the end result!! I used 3 cans (43.5 oz) chicken stock, used a package of 6 boneless, skinless chicken thighs (1 inch cubed), and replaced the shrimp with an extra 4 oz of sausage since my roommate and I don't care for shrimp, (I used 12 oz of andouille sausage, which you can get at most super markets). I have a "World Market" store near me and I used 2 5-inch fresh, red chili peppers. Those gave this more than a kick, but not too much. I like spice for flavor, but not for sport. Maybe use 1 or 1.5 if you're not into your mouth tingling (but not burning) throughout the meal. I'll be making this long into the future!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffern, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States