Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This was absolutely wonderful!!! I think it's imperative that you use a good quality beer if you're going to make this recipe. I used Yuenglings Black & Tan beer. I had NO problem w/ the taste. I used an even split of Emerils Bayou Blast & Essence. I also added in some sliced okra to the gumbo. This was absolutely delicious, and I will be making it again and again. I didn't see the point of waiting to re-add the chicken & sausage, so after the roux (the oil & butter) had been blended, I added the chicken & sausage back to the pot. It was really great!!! Thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was really yummy. I was terrified of the 1 cup of olive oil but followed the recipe as directed (mostly). It turned out great! Mine could have been spicier but it was more versitile to just serve with hot sauce on the side. Next time I'm going to cook the veggies a bit first so that they are a little softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Could someone tell me why mine was oily. I cooked my roux 40 minutes. Other than that it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Wonderful! I do change it by using hot Italian sausage, chicken, scallops, shrimp, and crab meat and leave out red chile peppers. I also use almost 3/4 of salted cajun seasoning and the rest unsalted cajun seasoning. It is can get too salty. I serve with rice mixed in. Always get people asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This recipe is teriffic!!!! I used the real cajun sausage and added a package of frozen cut up okra. Served with good ole cornbread. Serve over rice and I guaranteeeee it will be a winner. Thank you so much for this wonderful addition to my recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Wow.... great simple recipe! My first time making gumbo and it turned out PERFECT! My husband loved this. I'll definitely make again! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolec79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very tasty indeed. Used creole seasoning instead of Cajun and added crabmeat but the crab didn't add anything to the flavor except to maybe thicken it a bit. As for the roux, I heated the oil then added a little oil to flour till all flour in bowl was moist. Added roux back to pot with garlic. Meanwhile in large pot where chicken/sausage was cooked added beer & broth to loosen juices on bottom of pot, then added roux. I also lessened amount of red pepper to a little over 1tbl. Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
While this recipe was delicious, it was not the traditional gumbo I was hoping for. It came out more like a soup. Also, I doubled the amount of shrimp and sausage used and I am glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I used a dark stout and the flavor was amazing! It was very spicy, but I personally love that. It made a huge batch, so we ate off of it for a couple of days, but the flavor just kept getting better each day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Great recipe without any changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States