Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I've never made gumbo before, but have had it before and knew what I was looking for. This had okay flavor, but was in my and my boyfriends humble opinion, was lacking in chunky vegetables/proteins and reminded me too much of chili. We ended up adding in 2lbs of shrimp and 8 sliced andouille sausages to make it a bit heartier and served 6 people with plenty of leftovers. Next time I will try another, though..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arci

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
DELICIOUS! To make it even tastier, add the vegetables in right after you finish the roux. Also, add 2 cups of chicken instead of just 1, and 1 pound of sausage links instead of 1/2 pound. Otherwise, cut down the broth to about 2 quarts instead of 3. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kerrville, Texas, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I chose to make this gumbo first and read the recipe second. If I had read that the roux was made with olive oil I don't think I would've made it, but decided to go with it as per recipe. The roux seemed to just deep-fry my flour until brown, and only tightened up after the broth was added. And a whole cup of olive oil?? No thanks. I cut the flour and oil in half, especially since I of course cut the broth to 3 cans. It was okay, but I wasn't impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
OMG, this is yum. Really not that hard to make, I did mine in the slowcooker and added the shrimp about 20 mins. before we ate. It starts off mild, and slowly you feel the heat of the chilis and spices! Im adding to my review, after reading another one......roux...read it!!! Butter...Oil...Lard......the outcome is the same, to bind! The one roux is not the same as the other, the darker the nuttier....tastes differ No matta hoe its all in the roux!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
DELICIOUS! Didn't add beer b/c I didn't feel like going to the gas station to buy one can as we're not beer drinkers. Made a few small changes: 2 prts broth instead of 3, 4 celery stocks instead of 6, left ou tthe Roma tomatoes and used 2 cans Rotel instead, probably added a little more Cajun seasoning also. We like it spicy, and this definitely was! It makes A LOT too! Had enough for 4 people with everyone having seconds, leftovers to send home, leftovers for the two of us to eat the next day, and then some to freeze. Served over brown rice with a sweet yellow cornbread to compliment the spicy, great combination! Next time I think I'll use a shrimp stock though instead of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
My husband hates okra, so I was thrilled to find a gumbo recipe without it. I made it exactly as stated and it was fantastic- husband and toddler loved it, and there's enough to freeze for several meals. Only problem I ran into was when I threw the garlic in, the roux was so hot that it burnt the garlic a bit and added a bitter undertone. Will add garlic after the broth next time, but otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Chicken breast is too dry (use thighs and boil them in water to make your own chicken broth - the skins, fat and bones give it a better flavor), use anduoille sausage, start with a good roux and this recipe would be passable. Keep this in Texas - it ain't cajun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This is delicious! The only changes we made were omitting the celery (just because we don't like it) and we added the shrimp while the gumbo was cooling for about 15 minutes so as not to overcook it, as another reviewer suggested. Be careful not to burn the roux! We served it with jasmine rice, which was a perfect compliment. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bassprodallas
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Wooo Weeee!!! This was amazing!!! I've never made gumbo before so I was a little nervous about the roux, but it came out so beautifully! Per everyone else suggestions I cut back on the broth andy added only 6 cups of the chicken broth. My fiance is a big baby when it comes to spice and he did think this was WAY too spicy. Perfect for me though. So next time I make it I will cut back on the red chili and cajun seasoning. I served over brown rice. Mmm Mmmm Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bassprodallas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This recipe makes a lot of soup! I use old large yogurt containers to freeze it, which is the perfect size for my boyfriend and I for dinner. We get a good sized dinner out of it, and then about four more dinners. I buy the cheap $5 bag of precooked shrimp at Walmart and add it right before serving. I also use turkey sausage. My boyfriend LOVES this soup so I make it about once a month. To save on time I chop the vegetables while making the rue (you have to stir between each vegetable, but you save time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States