Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was good, but to me and my family, it just didn't seem like a REAL gumbo. And it was quite salty. I think I'll just keep looking for that down home gumbo I'm used to. But if I ever make this again, I will definitely half the recipe, as this could have served closer to 20 people than 10. And will try to add my own flair into it to improve upon it. Just okay for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenMama88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gulfcoastjess
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Lupe and Jason, A++++ on your gumbo!!! I darn near followed it to a tee, but had to make a few changes based on what I had and bc I wanted it to be my own. Used 1/4 cup butter and 3/4 c olive/canola oil blend and the 1 c flour. Roux seemed thin, only cause i'm used to gravy. It does take 30-35 minutes (of constant stir/mixing) to get browned enough. Roux is key. Used a whole lb of Andouille sausage, shredded the breast meat of a cooked chicken and 2, yes 2 pounds of shrimp (51-60 ct) Shrimp went in at the end of cooking.Also, used Margeret Holmes Tomatoes and Okra (2 cans). Served with rice and a glass of wine, didn't have any Zydeco music.... maybe for breakfast.? So good!!!!! Thanks for sharing!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Followed exactly turned out great! Thanks for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashlee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
So delicious. Everyone raves about it when I make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is a great variation! I really enjoy my family's gumbo so i was a little nervous to try something new. To my surprise it was very flavorful and my kids ate it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
My husband and family loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This was very good. I cooked my roux for almost an hour. The results were beautiful. Followed the recipe pretty closely resulting in a very flavorful, relatively mild gumbo. Was perfect for the family, I added some tabasco to boost mine a but.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike N

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This is a delicious recipe. It was my first time cooking and trying Gumbo and learning about Mardi Gras. I reduced celery and parsley by a 1/3. I used one 48oz can of low sodium chicken broth and it was plenty. I didn't use any hot chile peppers, because of family preferences. I will cook it again and look forward to the Mardi Gras tradition next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Great recipe, though I made some changes. Substitutions: I used both chicken breast and chicken thighs. The pork sausage I used was Andouille. I added 1 pound of okra. Cooking: Instead of waiting to add the meat (for the last 20 min), I added it in with the vegetables. Though, I added shrimp at the end and cooked until they were nice and pink. Loved, loved, loved this recipe -- even my picky spicy avoiding kids enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was really good and my guests loved it. I ended up doing only 2 quarts of chicken broth, used doubled the meat amts and used Sam Adams Boston Lager. Served over Jasmine rice. Nice amount of heat but not overpowering. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 487) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States