Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I swore I would follow the recipe exactly, right down to the cornbread and beer! But I felt that the amount of meat needed to be increased for all the broth. I used a whole pack of chicken tenderloins (1 1/2 lbs) and 2 packs of Andouille sausages (2 lbs), kept shrimp at 1 lb. It was excellent but I do think that 3 qts of broth is still too much. The flavor was fabulous! I cheated and used boil in the bag rice - I was serving 10 people! This made a VERY large amount. I would say it serves 16 at least. The key is the roux, stir for 30 minutes. You want it to be the color of peanut butter. Get your jar out and compare! Definitely worth the work! I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Added cooked rice to the recipe and it was perfect. (Would have been perfect without it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zusjames

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
the most amazing Gumbo EVER! note when they say large pot they mean humongous. I had to cook in 2 large pots & that was usuing 1/2 the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
very good flavor! a keeper thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was the 1st time with a Gumbo.Very good.A couple changes Ive made because of me watching my salt and fat,I used low salt low fat broth and I also used turkey links.Very good recipe,thanks,but next time tell us to get out the ''Big Pot''.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Walter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Must use the gumbo stock....must
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I'd serve it to anyone as an impressive, and flavorful dish. I used the canned tomatoes with habanero peppers, so I forwent the fresh red chilies. I added brown rice (per rice box serving instructions), substituted turkey sausage, and used one Shock Top beer. Makes my mouth water just thinking about it...THANK YOU AND GOODNIGHT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
wow.. everyone went nuts over this..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
this was yummy. I used andouille chicken sausage and regular diced tomatoes and pepper flakes to taste rather than fresh chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States