Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
My family loves this Gumbo and I have picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Excellent gumbo recipe. I made this weeks ago but didn't have any cajun seasoning or red pepper, but the 1/4 cajun seasoning and the pepper really spices this up and makes it delicious instead of just good. I made the roux a dark brown and let the cajun seasoning heat up with the roux. I also used half a cup of olive oil and added some butter to make the roux. I know, it's annoying when people make changes in the recipe, but this recipe is good just as it is or gives you some wiggle room to change things up a bit and make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I used canned tomatoes instead of fresh plums, it cooks down so you can't tell if they're fresh or not. I also used rotel brand and bud light. I'm from Louisiana and this gumbo recipe is AWESOME just as good as recipes with 3 hour rouxs. A+++ and my diner guests agreed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGallant7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Fabulous, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Laroche

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I swore I would follow the recipe exactly, right down to the cornbread and beer! But I felt that the amount of meat needed to be increased for all the broth. I used a whole pack of chicken tenderloins (1 1/2 lbs) and 2 packs of Andouille sausages (2 lbs), kept shrimp at 1 lb. It was excellent but I do think that 3 qts of broth is still too much. The flavor was fabulous! I cheated and used boil in the bag rice - I was serving 10 people! This made a VERY large amount. I would say it serves 16 at least. The key is the roux, stir for 30 minutes. You want it to be the color of peanut butter. Get your jar out and compare! Definitely worth the work! I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Added cooked rice to the recipe and it was perfect. (Would have been perfect without it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zusjames

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
the most amazing Gumbo EVER! note when they say large pot they mean humongous. I had to cook in 2 large pots & that was usuing 1/2 the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
very good flavor! a keeper thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was the 1st time with a Gumbo.Very good.A couple changes Ive made because of me watching my salt and fat,I used low salt low fat broth and I also used turkey links.Very good recipe,thanks,but next time tell us to get out the ''Big Pot''.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Walter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States