Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This was without doubt the best gumbo I've ever had. I have tried many styles of gumbo both homemade and at great restaurants and this beat them hands down. I had people who don't like shrimp and don't like spicy food getting second and third helpings. I've never cooked a gumbo before so all the credit goes to this great recipe. Two notes: I didn't use the full amount of cayenne called for and it was still pretty spicy so you may want to half it or even less if you like mild food. At least do it to taste. And I added another 1/2 bottle of beer which cut down a bit on the sweetness of the canned tomatoes and made for a richer taste. Definitely a show stopper and can't wait to use it at my next dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Awesome Recipe!! I just added okra because I love okra in my Gumbo... I made it for 150 people and they Raved about how good the flavor was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
followed directions to the "T".... sorry not impressed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
omg was this ever good. I added Okra to mine and didnt have any red peppers. Still it is so good. will be a keeper for me. yummmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Delicious! The hubby and I prefer a thicker gumbo so we left out 1 qt of chicken broth and it was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
My family loves this Gumbo and I have picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Excellent gumbo recipe. I made this weeks ago but didn't have any cajun seasoning or red pepper, but the 1/4 cajun seasoning and the pepper really spices this up and makes it delicious instead of just good. I made the roux a dark brown and let the cajun seasoning heat up with the roux. I also used half a cup of olive oil and added some butter to make the roux. I know, it's annoying when people make changes in the recipe, but this recipe is good just as it is or gives you some wiggle room to change things up a bit and make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I used canned tomatoes instead of fresh plums, it cooks down so you can't tell if they're fresh or not. I also used rotel brand and bud light. I'm from Louisiana and this gumbo recipe is AWESOME just as good as recipes with 3 hour rouxs. A+++ and my diner guests agreed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGallant7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Fabulous, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Laroche

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States