Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Very delicious, but spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Left out the beer and shrimp, best gumbo ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
like ground sausage better, got to add okra and kale... great all around gumbo - going to switch catfish for chx next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This was just heaven in your mouth. My oldest son had two bowls, and some more for lunch. I will make this often. I served this with some cornbread muffins, I wish I could give it more stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wendysaurus
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This recipe was delicious! I normally am not a fan of gumbo because it can be really salty or the flavors just aren't right... But this was amazing. I decide to make this to surprise my bf because he loves Cajun/Creole food and I think I aced it! I did tweak this recipe a little bit, as suggested by others I add the shrimp at the end and reduce the amount of liquids. It was my first time making a roux and with much research I did it perfectly… although it does seem thin, one it's added to rice it's perfect (+ a little file, too)! I swapped the canned chile peppers for green bell peppers and diced a de-seed jalapeño, and roma tomatoes for canned diced tomatoes. Also add andouille sausages :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
We loved this! But, I did change a couple of things......yes, I'm one of those people! Instead of olive oil, I used a stick of butter and bacon drippings to make the roux. It took a good 40+ minutes of constantly stirring to get it that perfect dark brown color. Also, I simmered chicken thighs in the broth, bone-in, skin on & removed both upon serving. It just wouldn't be southern cooking without the fat! I only used 2 TBSP. of cajun seasoning as the type I have on hand is way too salty. For the sausage I used anduoille and didn't add the shrimp until the very end after it was taken off the burner, otherwise followed this recipe. It was a perfect blend of spiciness with smokiness. And of course, served it with rice which helped tone the heat down a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
OMG! This was AMAZING!!! Great recipe. I did add a pinch of thyme, gumbo file and a bay leaf but my whole family was licking their bowls!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I added a pound of Crab Meat and deleted the chili peppers and yummy great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qtewashington

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I didn't have any beer, so I omitted it. This was still very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Wow, so good! I've never had gumbo before and I'm a believer. I wasn't sure what was meant by "red chile peppers" so I used a single (green) Serrano pepper in my half-recipe and it was a bit TOO spicy! Next time I'll leave out some of the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States