Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This was fantastic (especially the gravy). The onions cooked down to give a it a nice, subtle sweetness that was OH so delicious. I used a 2-lb. roast and cooked it stovetop in a Dutch oven. First, I browned the meat on all sides in olive oil, then added to the pot: 3 sliced onions, about a 1/2 cup red wine, 1/2 Tbsp. lemon juice, 2 bay leaves, and a generous amount of salt/pepper. No vinegar (but the red wine and lemon juice made up for it). I can't do a pot roast without red wine-- it just doesn't seem right (haha). I simmered the roast on low for about 3.5 hours, then made the gravy. I used 1 cup of beef broth in place of water, and about 2 Tbsp. flour to get it to the right consistency. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I clearly did something wrong. The roast smelled incredible cooking for the 1st 3 hours, at 3 1/2 hours I checked on it and found the onions were completely burnt and stuck to the bottom of the pan. The roast was also partially burnt on the bottom. Hopefully I will be able to salvage the roast, but as far as the onions and gravy thats not going to happen. Thankfully I have some brown gravy on hand, but from what all the other reviews say my brown gravy won't compare to the one from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This recipe was incredible! The meat was yummy and the onion gravy was awesome! I used a can of Campbell's beef consume (heated) instead of the water for a stronger beefy flavor for the gravy. The next night, I shredded the leftover meat and mixed it with the leftover gravy and served it, heated, on hoagie rolls. Even better the second time around!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I loed it! Was a nice change from our boring slow cooker pot roast, I didn't use all those onions cause I didn't have them and I added mushrooms and red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
My family loved it! I used red wine vinegar (what I had on hand) and sprinkled the roast with thyme and rosemary. It was very fragrant. I did brown the roast also. The gravy is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I thought this was very bland... Had to spice it up quite a bit for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
OK, now ya'll hush about the vinegar. Susan knows what she's talking about. I had two roasts to cook, and ran out of vinegar with the first roast. Thought it would be good to compare. The roast with that little bit of vinegar was more flavorful and tender - the whole family agreed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I to did a little fixing,I added 2 roasts 3 onions,and some Marsala wine.I also added some brown sugar and apple cider vinegar and water to cover.stuck in oven for 4 and a half hours.I used my grandmother's old cast aluminum cooking vessel.The taste is hard to describe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Always a hungry family waiting when I make this for dinner. The smell is wonderful as it cooks all day on the stove and it turns out perfect everytime. I use balsamic vinegar when I don't have white and they both taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I love roast and decided to try this new version. The vinegar overpowered everything else. Also, I'm not sure why it's cooked with so many onions. I might try it again to see if I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States