Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
the vinigar makes it tender also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Like many "pot" roast recipes, this one works very well in a crockpot. I threw in some red wine and garlic at the start and later added some quartered fresh baby bella mushrooms. I cooked it on low for 8 hours and the roast was falling apart when done, but remained moist, tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Delicious and tender!! I browned the 3.49lb bottom round roast. After browning I added not only the onions and bay leaf but 1 celery stalk, 1 extra large garlic clove and balsamic marinade oppose to just white vinegar. I cooked it for 3 hours since it was less than 4lbs. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I made this about 2 weeks ago and it was delicious. I only used 2 large onions and sliced about a pound of assorted fresh mushrooms. Added a few sprigs of fresh thyme as well. The only problem was that my roast was too small. The onion/mushroom gravy was delicious with the meat and I made some garlic mashed potatoes to go with this. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I took other reviewers suggestions about browning the roast first. Then followed the recipe exactly. The flavors were good, but I found it to be very dry. I cooked a 4.5 lb roast for 4.5 hours. Maybe I cooked it too long? Not sure if I will try again. Maybe I should have used another cut of meat or cooked it in a crock pot? Based on the great reviews, I was anticipating it not to be so dry. I just could have done something wrong. Also, the one cup of water with one tablespoon of flour was not enough to thicken the remaining juices to make a gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I rarely make roasts, so I looked at the cut of meat, and typed bottom round roast and came up with this recipe. It was delicious! I will definitely make this again. The onions and the gravy really make this dish stand out and it's so amazingly easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This was pretty good! I only used 5 onions, and used red wine vinegar instead of regular vinegar. I used a traditional cast iron dutch oven which made all the difference. The gravy turned out dark brown, not light like in the picture, but it was very flavorful. My husband thought it tasted like a great homemade German dish. Served it over egg noddles and a side of asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I never made a roast on top of the stove. And, at my surprise, it was great. I did braise my roast in olive oil first, then added onion and fresh garlic. I used balsamic vinegar witch i love with beef. I added the roast on top of onions then added fresh rosemary & tyme. I also made gravy out of the onion stock. Very very good. I would of had leftovers, but my husband loved it so much he over eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I usually do my Roast on top of the stove or in the oven but i felt supper lazy today and did it in the crock pot useing this recipe.I did brown my roast on the the stove top as i always do to lock in the juices.I added 4 really good sized mushroom's and instead of the plain vineger i used red wine vineger.Turned out awesome!! I was hopeing to have leftover roast to make RB Hash with for tomorrow night's diner.But, there was nothing left on the platter!!This is a keeper for sure.Thnx for a great recipe :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This is the first roast that I cooked on top of the stove in a pot and it came out great. The gravy was excellent. I did use wine, rosemary, and thyme with it. I will cut the cooking time down a little next time. Hubby really liked the whole meal. Served with fresh steamed broccoli and mashed potatoes. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States