Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Excellent! Was skeptical about the vinegar but it must evaporate in the process. The gravy was great lso. I did add a few tablespoons of water. It is a keeper. The whole family enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This recipe was great. I only added one onion and 3 cloves of garlic along with the bay leaf. I did sear it on all sides with oil and then let it simmer for 3 hours on the stove in my dutch oven. Even though the meat was well done ( i like my a little rare) it was very tender. The gravy that you can make from this was very tasty as well. Great winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Very good! Loved the onion gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I was doubtgul of this recipe at first but after making it I was very pleased wjtb tbe results. The roast came out perfect tender but not dry (wich is a problem with bottom round) and the gravy was absolutley wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Thanks so much for this exceptional and easy recipe!! The only thing I did differently was to brown the roast on all sides in a little oil before removing it and sweating the onions and some minced garlic. I then put the roast back into my enamelled cast iron dutch oven, covered it, and stuck it in a 400-degree oven till it was done (about three hours). Moist, flavorful, and tender and delicious served with roasted potato and sweet potato wedges and steamed veggies.....everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZMULLEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I cooked it in a slow cooker. My mistake was I put the frozen roast in it and turned it to high setting......roast was still tough when we were ready to eat. So I left it ovenight in low settings. It needed more flavor so I added a jar of muchroom gravy and it came out good. I think I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Plainly & simply put...THIS WAS GOSH AWFUL. The smell while cooking, was anything but appetizing. The taste matched the horrible smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
After 4 hours at low, the onions were still hard and the roast wasn't done. I now have the sucker in the microwave cooking. I should have just cooked it in the crock pot like I always do: Throw the roast in, put a quartered onion and some garlic on top, sprinkle with powdered onion and beef broths, add a bay leaf, and cook it on low 6 to 8 hours. We would be eating it right now! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very easy and very good. Did add a small amount of beer broth along with the vinegar just in case there was too little liquid to keep onions/meat from singeing. Definite keeper. Meat moist and tender. Gravy meaty and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Just made this recipe and it is wonderful with my adaptations. I trimmed the fat from the meat. I added salt and course cracked pepper and browned the meat on all sides in 1 1/2 tablespoons of oil. I used 3 onions, 3 cloves of garlic, sliced. I added 1/2 cup water with 2 tsp. bouillon to the meat while cooking. I only had to cook the meat for 1 hour 5 minutes, checked the temp with a thermometer and it was already 150 degrees. To make gravy I only used 1/4 cup water with the tablespoon of flour. I had lots of beef broth and onions. I took a potato masher and pressed the onions and garlic to thicken the gravy too. My husband loved it. I don't recommend any additional herbs, you taste the meat and onions, you don't need any other flavors. Instead of 3-4 hours, my roast was ready to serve in 1 hour and 20 minutes. The browning of the meat really cut down on the cooking time. It was done and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States