Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Sorry but I did not care for this recipe. I picked this recipe because the onion gravy looked appealing. The roast turned out extremely bland, the cooking time is not long enough and the gravy turned out nothing like the picture even after adding quite bit more flour to thicken it. I read the reviews before making this so I seared the roast and even added Garlic as well as additional seasonings but it didn't help at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Did it just like the recipe says the first time. It was great. Added garlic the second time, still great. My wife did it once and left the heat on too low, so the meat had to cook longer and was tougher. We simmered it in the sauce and it still was good to eat. It really seems like a recipe that you can't get wrong. Top notch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
this was excellent...so TENDER....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Very good recipe!! I coated my roast in flour & browned it per recipe & cooked in crockpot. I did add some red wine & Italian seasonings. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
More than a 5 star but I did follow other reviewers changes. I did sear the meat, added merlot wine to deglaze the pan and then added another cup of wine before starting to simmer. At the end I just mixed 3 teaspoons of corn starch into 3 tablespoons of cold water and then added it to the onions and wine mixture to thicken. I also added some thyme leaves while it cooked. Thanks submtiter - best pot roast I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Roast turned out very tender and tasty. I didn't like the gravy but husband said it was alright. Tasted better the next day. Won't be making it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I made this for Easter dinner. This was very good, the beef was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This is the best recipe ever! My husband is a chef with 15 years experience, so as you can imagine, it is hard to "wow" him! But, he raved about this meal for days and was sad when the leftovers were gone! I only used 3 onions, but I think I will go with the full 6 next time, because they were so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe. But, as advised by other reviewers, I seared the meat, added about 3 cloves of minced garlic with the onions, used 2 Tablespoons flour to thicken, and then added a packet of no-sodium beef boullion and salt and pepper to taste to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monroe Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I have served this recipe twice now, and everyone loves it! It's so easy to make, and it makes the meat so tender and juicy. It's great with or without the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScrapTiffany

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seldovia, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States