Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Very good. I made it in the crock pot. My family loved it. I didn't use all the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Delicious. I bRowned the meat first, placed it to the side. Placed onions, mushrooms, garlic and red wine vinegar into the pan with salt and pepper. After 10 minutes added the bay leaf and beef broth (1 cup) brought to simmer. Added to a crock pot and placed the beef on top. Let it cook on high for hour, then low for 3more hours. Turned out delicious, not dry at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I took MBrooker's advise and also browned the meat first, didn't have any red wine so I used white, also added garlic a bit more than MBrooker did. Loved the outcome and for tomorrow's dinner I'm going to shred the rest of the meat and add that to the gravy and put over egg noodles. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
So here is my take on the people who get upset because others change a posted recipe...I went looking for a recipe for a bottom round roast that I bought on sale and wasn't sure what to do with. This one caught my eye because I like onions. I read it and then immediately went to the reviews to see if anyone had done it in a crock pot because that's how I wanted to cook mine. As I was reading the original recipe I was already thinking; "add wine because I have some, add herbs de provence because I love them, garlic because I put it in everything....that's what we all do. I appreciate Susan for the recipe and appreciate others just as much for offering alternate suggestions that I can TAKE or LEAVE. This ia a very good recipe just as is but feel free to make it "yours".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was very good, I did add some carrots and garlic to the onions. I cooked it on low for an hour on the stove last night and then put in the oven this morning on 300 degrees and cooked for 4 hours. I don't do flour so after removing the meat and carrots, I made onion soup. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I am a cancer patient going thru chemo and this was delicious! My taste buds do not like much but they liked this. I am making it again. So easy so my limited energy was able to manage it. I added garlic and only 4 onions because that is all I had in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Great. I followed another reviewer's recommendation and used an immersion blender to blend the gravy. Also cooked in the oven for 4 hours at 300.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Great recipe! Everybody liked it! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ambergerin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I cooked this in my crock pot and followed the revisions to the recipe that Gina made on Jan 10th, 2007 (look in comments section). It was SO easy and soooo very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kallyinthekitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
YUM YUM! I followed the recipe for the most part, I changed the following. I browned my roast first and added minced garlic. This roast was very tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States