Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and my roast turned out perfect. The onion gravy was spot on and the roast tender and juicy.Everybody loved it. I had to hide the leftovers in the back of the fridge so I can make a hot roast beef sandwich with the little bit that was leftover from dinner last night. My family wants to know when we can have it again. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe.-Andrea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Wow, this is a keeper. I went with the first review from Mbrooker and made it exactly how they did and it is just fantastic. I've never had such tender flavorful beef before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This was good. Good way to use a cheap cut of beef. Next time I would add a few spices for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Tasted good, but definitely needs some tweaks and adjustments. You want to cut your onion pretty big so it won't burn. I added some flour to both sides of the beef to help thicken the gravy later, then browned each side. Then I also added two cups of chicken broth so that the beef wouldn't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rash Dicksy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I had purchased a top round roast at the store and wasn't sure how to cook it. I followed the recipe as written, only I didn't brown ithe roast first. My family really enjoyed it! I thought the gravy was delicious. I would definitely recommend this recipe for either a top round or bottom round roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
My family LOVED this recipe! It's easy enough the my 14 year old makes it during the week when my husband and I have to work late. She starts it when she gets home from school and by the time we get home, dinner is on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Making this recipe right now for what will be my third time. The first time I read the recipe wrong and put the 1 cup water in at the beginning of cooking time, but the roast turned out perfectly tender anyway (and I had put it in while it was still a bit frozen, too!) and onions were perfectly caramelized and flavourful. My husband raved and said it was almost as good as his mother's roast! Still had to add another cup of water to make gravy as liquid was almost all gone after cooking, and I added a bit of Bisto for more flavour. The second time I followed the recipe properly and all the onions and the bottom of the roast burned as there was hardly any liquid in it from the start. Nothing could be salvaged to make a gravy with and it took over an hour of soaking and scrubbing to get my pot back to normal. Luckily I had a packet of gravy mix on hand to use instead, and the meat still tasted fine. This third time I am putting the water in at the beginning again to avoid another burning catastrophe. Other than the liquid issue, which is why I haven't given it a full 5 stars, it's a fantastic recipe and the only one I have used since discovering it. Also, while cooking, it gives off the best smell ever to come out of my kitchen (then again, I've always loved the smell of onions). Especially comforting on cold, snowy days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Made this tonight. Family loved it. Added a sprig of Rosemary and removed when done cooking strained out the leaves as was not quite appetizing for the kids. But they liked the flavor. It also made a delicious gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Trying it today. Dubious about the only initial liquid being 1Tbs of vinegar. What is there to simmer? Vinegar softens connective tissue, which is great, but more fluid is needed. Especially at altitude. Also, browning roast and adding thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I seared my roast which was only 2.5 pounds. Then I put 3 sliced onions in the bottom of the crock pot,then the roast, 2 bay leaves, some rosemary and 3 TBSP of Balsamic vinegar. 5 hours in the crock pot and it was falling apart delicious. We used the juice as is rather than thickening it but I'm sure it would have been delicious thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States