Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Trying it today. Dubious about the only initial liquid being 1Tbs of vinegar. What is there to simmer? Vinegar softens connective tissue, which is great, but more fluid is needed. Especially at altitude. Also, browning roast and adding thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I seared my roast which was only 2.5 pounds. Then I put 3 sliced onions in the bottom of the crock pot,then the roast, 2 bay leaves, some rosemary and 3 TBSP of Balsamic vinegar. 5 hours in the crock pot and it was falling apart delicious. We used the juice as is rather than thickening it but I'm sure it would have been delicious thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I just made this for dinner and thought the flavor was super yummy...I didn't add the water or flour to thicken the juice. I just blended the onions with the juice and put that over the meat (and mashed taters). I also only used one onion with just under a 2 lb roast. I did find the roast to be a little bit tough and dry but with the juice poured over it we didn't notice too much. I might have cooked it too long too. Still I loved the flavor, I didn't find it to be bland at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I used a 2 lb bottom round. Seasoned it with season all, garlic powder and pepper. Seared all sides in a little oil, removed from pot. Sliced 1 large yellow onion and also seared a bit in a little oil scraping the little bits from the bottom of pot. Placed roast on top of onions, added 2 cups of water, 2 beef bullion cubes, 1 bay leaf. Once broth started boiling, turned heat on low covered and simmered for 2 1/2 hours, turning over halfway through. I didn't want to use the oven so I kept it on the stove. The meat came out so tender and the gravy was oh so YUMMY! I added a little cornstarch to a little cold water and added to the broth, brought to a boil and simmered 1 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made this recipe pretty much as it was written, but scaled down a bit because my roast was only 2 pounds. I dinged the review by one star because I did add some extra flavoring. I added 3 large minced garlic cloves to the onions, and browned the roast before cooking the onions and garlic. The other changes I made were basically the same as the recipe, but used for health value. I used Braggs Apple Cider vinegar instead of white vinegar, and garbanzo bean flour for thickening the gravy. I also added 3 crushed bouillon cubes to the water for extra flavor, and some rosemary and thyme. Because my roast was smaller, I used 1 very large onion that I had on hand. I added more water because I am a fan of one-pot meals, and added quartered potatoes and fresh carrots in the last hour. After adding the veggies, I increased the heat to bring it to a boil, and then reduced to low heat to simmer for the remaining time. My family loved this roast. It was moist and very tender. The gravy was flavorful, and the veggies turned out perfect. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy2304

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I've made a tof of recipes from here but I've never left a review before- this is worthy of my first. I had to prepare this when my boyfriend was out of the house because I just know that if he saw the onions he'd quarantine the kitchen. I told him that it was like rice and if he lifts the lid it ruins it, ha! He LOVED IT and said he can't wait for leftovers! This was delicious, I didnt ad salt or pepper until the end and to be honest it didn't really need it. I also browned the meat first and cooked in the oven (just so he wouldn't peek and see the onions) but other than that I kept it true to the recipe. I will be making this again and again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne DuBose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I made this for may family and EVERYONE LOVED it!! It's hard to make a meal that everyone loves. I will make this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Very good. I made it in the crock pot. My family loved it. I didn't use all the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Delicious. I bRowned the meat first, placed it to the side. Placed onions, mushrooms, garlic and red wine vinegar into the pan with salt and pepper. After 10 minutes added the bay leaf and beef broth (1 cup) brought to simmer. Added to a crock pot and placed the beef on top. Let it cook on high for hour, then low for 3more hours. Turned out delicious, not dry at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I took MBrooker's advise and also browned the meat first, didn't have any red wine so I used white, also added garlic a bit more than MBrooker did. Loved the outcome and for tomorrow's dinner I'm going to shred the rest of the meat and add that to the gravy and put over egg noodles. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States