Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Easg, fragrant and fabulous!! Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marie
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
An absolute must make and cant wait to make again!!! We love onions and this just made the most awesome gravy in the world!!! The only thing I did different is my roast was 2 pounds, I used only 3 onions, added a beef boillon cube and a little water the other ingrediants I kept as is. Also I didnt have a dutch oven so in a deep sauce pan I let cook for about an hr then it just sat for several hours then finished cooking about another hour before dinner. so moist and melt in mouth. Just WOW! Thanks for the recipe!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer Murrweiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
the only change i made was to add 2 cans of drained mushrooms to the ingredients.real simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Castle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This was really good, with dark, rich gravy. I had to make some adjustments, though. I put a tiny bit of oil under the onions, and after the meat had browned good on all sides to make the "brown bits", I added at least 2 cups of water for the roast to simmer in. Since it's a bottom round, I wanted to be sure it was tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownville Junction, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This is the easiest, tastiest meal to make. I work from home and I love being able to put this on to cook and smell it simmering away. My husband loves onions so its one of his favorites. I've never had much luck with making gravy, but this is a breeze. Definitely one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
So easy and tasty. I have little previous experience with roasts, so I prepared exactly as directed except for adding a couple boullion cubes to the gravy at the end. All three of my kids asked for seconds (very unusual)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
This is so easy and tasty! The only thing we change each time we make it is we use less onion. I use one or two red onions. We love it every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmyhubby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Pure comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This is a very good recipe. The second time I made it, I made some changes that my entire family thought produced excellent results. I browned the Roast. Remove. Add 3 cloves of minced garlic to the onions at the beginning. Before placing the roast on the onions, I turned up the heat and deglazed the stock pot with Merlot, scraping up any brown bits. I placed the roast on the mixture to cook until done. After transferring the roast to a warm plate and tenting it with foil, I added another 1/2 cup Merlot to the pot and let it reduce by half, adding a Teaspoon of dried thyme. I then added 3/4 cup low sodium beef broth, brought it to a boil then added approximately 2 Tablespoons of roux to thicken. Pour over sliced roast. The leftovers were devoured for breakfast the next morning! Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
677 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This recipe turned out great. Used condensed beef broth instead of water and accidentily put it in the pot during the cooking time but it made a great gravy. Didn't thicken it, just poured it over the meat and mashed potatoes. Added a package of sliced mushrooms with the onions as was suggested by a reviewer and it was a delicious addition. Will use this recipe again for sure. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States