Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I cooked this in the crock pot - high for 1.5 hrs, then the rest of the time on low. Was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Turned out really well. Definitely will use this recipe time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I used most of the suggestions of MBROOKER and added additional salt & pepper to everything before cooking. Used a Spanish red wine which the onions picked up very well. The roast itself was terribly dry so thank goodness for the sauce. Perhaps in a crockpot it holds some moisture but not in a regular pot. A decent basis recipe but definitely needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Frankfurt Am Main, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Very GOOD! I usually make a pot roast in the pressure cooker with this type of meat but when I stumbled accross this recipe I was ready to try something new. I rubbed salt, pepper, Italian seasoning and garlic to the meat then browned it in the dutch oven- I then removed it, deglazed the pan with a little red wine then put in the onions, bay leaf and some sliced garlic. We love Balsamic vinegar so I add 3 tablespoons. I was so nervous because I didn't think there was enough liquid in the dutch oven- But it came out great!! I had a 3 pound roast and cooked it for 3 hours- kept the lid on the whole time. The meat was so tender- even more so then when I do it in the pressure cooker! I put the onion mixture in the food processor until smooth. It made a nice gravy without adding the flour. I served with some mashed potatoes. This is an excellent recipe, will use it from now on- THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Tannersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I twisted the recipe also. I made a rub from garlic powder, salt and crushed rosemary. Rubbed the meat down and browned it in a little olive oil. Degalzed the pan with wine. I added four large onions to the bottom of my stock pot and placed the roast on top. I then added balsamic vinegar. I added alot more liquid than suggested. I also went with enough to come up half way on the meat. Cooked for three hours, pured the onions, made a rouxe to thicken the liquid. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Tasted like a pot roast lol nothing too special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Wow! This is how I will always make bottom round from now on. I did modify it some though. I did use a little canola oil and sear (brown on all sides)the roast first. I only had 4 onions, I added a couple cloves of garlic, as suggested by another reviewer I used balsamic vinegar, and I also added some rosemary and thyme. The gravy was fantastic, and the meat was so tender! Update: I have made this several times now, and everyone always raves over how tender and tasty it turns out. I've used several types of vinegar, but think that either balsamic or red wine vinegar works best. I have used anywhere from 3 to 5 onions - the more onions the more liquid you get. Sometimes I thicken the gravy, and sometimes I serve it au jus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Wonderful recipe. I don't use white vinegar for anything other than cleaning so I substituted cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Holy Moly I love this recipe! So does my husband - this was the first roast recipe he told me I must do again. I modified it a bit, partly on accident. I put one cup of water, with apple cider vinegar and put the roast on top. I also only used one large sweet onion. My extra addition that makes the gravy especially good is a couple whole sprigs of fresh rosemary (I remove when done and strain out anything big). I puree the onions in the water to make gravy, just added a little salt and thickener (flour or cornstarch). Afterwards I have one very happy husband :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States