Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Wonderful recipe. I don't use white vinegar for anything other than cleaning so I substituted cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Holy Moly I love this recipe! So does my husband - this was the first roast recipe he told me I must do again. I modified it a bit, partly on accident. I put one cup of water, with apple cider vinegar and put the roast on top. I also only used one large sweet onion. My extra addition that makes the gravy especially good is a couple whole sprigs of fresh rosemary (I remove when done and strain out anything big). I puree the onions in the water to make gravy, just added a little salt and thickener (flour or cornstarch). Afterwards I have one very happy husband :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Easg, fragrant and fabulous!! Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marie
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
An absolute must make and cant wait to make again!!! We love onions and this just made the most awesome gravy in the world!!! The only thing I did different is my roast was 2 pounds, I used only 3 onions, added a beef boillon cube and a little water the other ingrediants I kept as is. Also I didnt have a dutch oven so in a deep sauce pan I let cook for about an hr then it just sat for several hours then finished cooking about another hour before dinner. so moist and melt in mouth. Just WOW! Thanks for the recipe!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer Murrweiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
the only change i made was to add 2 cans of drained mushrooms to the ingredients.real simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Castle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This was really good, with dark, rich gravy. I had to make some adjustments, though. I put a tiny bit of oil under the onions, and after the meat had browned good on all sides to make the "brown bits", I added at least 2 cups of water for the roast to simmer in. Since it's a bottom round, I wanted to be sure it was tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownville Junction, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This is the easiest, tastiest meal to make. I work from home and I love being able to put this on to cook and smell it simmering away. My husband loves onions so its one of his favorites. I've never had much luck with making gravy, but this is a breeze. Definitely one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
So easy and tasty. I have little previous experience with roasts, so I prepared exactly as directed except for adding a couple boullion cubes to the gravy at the end. All three of my kids asked for seconds (very unusual)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
This is so easy and tasty! The only thing we change each time we make it is we use less onion. I use one or two red onions. We love it every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmyhubby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Pure comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States