Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This was delicious & easy to make. I used 2 huge spanish onions put an onion layer on the bottom placed roast and then topped with rest of onions..I made small slits my meat and stuffed garlic in it..I'd turn/rotate my pot everytime I was tempted to lift the lid =0) 4.5lb roast cooked in 4 hours Thanks for sharing..and my husband thanks you too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Agosto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This recipe was great. I did mine in the crockpot and the meat was tender. I made noodles and served it over the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
GREAT recipe! I followed it to a tee, except I only used 1/2 cup of water and 3 tablespoons of flour to make a thick, delicious gravy. My family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
This may easily become mine and my husbands favorite way to cook a roast from now on. We were surprised and then very happy with the strong flavors and the richness of the onion gravy. It was an excellant meal along with mashed garlic potatoes and fried spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This is excellent! I was a little worried about the onions carmalizing. After I got it simmering and put the lid on, they were still raw looking and it really smelled of vinegar. But my lid wasn't on tight, the liquid went out and voila! carmalized onions. I added a little water and it became the nice dark color it should be. Next time I'll leave it on high till the onions are carmalized, probably what I should have done the first time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
I love this! Whenever we want something low-carb and easy, we just put this on. I was actually amazed that it was so good. I omit the final step with the flour. I find that the caramelized onions and juice make a decent gravy substitute, and since I'm avoiding bread, potatoes, etc., I have no use for a thicker gravy anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Not being an onion family, I made some changes... I put 2 sliced onions, 1 package sliced mushrooms (approx 12 'shrooms) & a garlic clove in the pot. I seasoned the meat by putting 1 tsp each of peppercorns, kosher salt rosemary & coriander seeds & a clove of garlic in my mincer. I put the chopped herbs on a piece of wax paper, rolled the meat around it, and then cooked the meat as directed. FABULOUS!!! (I doubled the gravy mixture too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I absolutely love this recipe! It is so quick and easy and tastes so wonderful when its done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
Excellent recipe. I used a dutch oven with lid in oven @ 300 degrees for 4 hours left if covered the entire time. The onions were a beautiful amber color which made an excellent gravy base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
381 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I almost passed this recipe up after reading some of the reviews. Glad I tried it because it turned out great. I cooked the roast just as the recipe suggested, and it is true... lifting the lid to check the progress during cooking only lengthened my cooking time...darnit. Reading others' suggestions, I added extra herbs/spices (Season Salt in place of salt, Tony Chachere's Creole Seasoning, Cavender's Greek, a pinch or two of Thyme, and two whole peeled cloves of garlic). I decreased the onions to 3 instead of 6, and substituted Beef Broth for the water... great results. The roast was tender and juicy, and the onion gravy was to die for. Husband and kids ate it ALL up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WIFEMOMCOOKMAID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States