Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I usually do my Roast on top of the stove or in the oven but i felt supper lazy today and did it in the crock pot useing this recipe.I did brown my roast on the the stove top as i always do to lock in the juices.I added 4 really good sized mushroom's and instead of the plain vineger i used red wine vineger.Turned out awesome!! I was hopeing to have leftover roast to make RB Hash with for tomorrow night's diner.But, there was nothing left on the platter!!This is a keeper for sure.Thnx for a great recipe :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This is the first roast that I cooked on top of the stove in a pot and it came out great. The gravy was excellent. I did use wine, rosemary, and thyme with it. I will cut the cooking time down a little next time. Hubby really liked the whole meal. Served with fresh steamed broccoli and mashed potatoes. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
A very good recipe. I was shy on the onions so I only used 2, but the next time I'll use more as it produces more sauce. Searing before baking (at 300) is recommended. I coated the beef with Montreal Steak seasoning and it was very good. One notice, I have a cast iron dutch oven with heavy lid so 3 hours at 300F was overcooking in my case. Next time I'll reduce it to 2.5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Thie recipe was great. I read most of the other reviews first and did make some changes. I browned the roast first, deglazed with Merlot, added garlic and also added more Merlot & some Beef Broth at the end. Try not to lift the lid during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by exumagal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
MBrooker, your recipe sounds almost identical to mine, except where you are using Merlot (yum) I am using balsamic vinegar and a lot more chunked up fresh vegetables. The secret to a successful potroast is to sear on a high flame on all sides right at the beginning in order to keep the juices inside the meat. Next time I'll be trying the merlot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This is a very good recipe as it is. It was intended for busy moms. Making a whole bunch of changes just makes it take longer to make, not to mention a totally differant recipe. Why do people insist on doing that. Post your own recipies people. I want to know what it was like as written, not your version of pot roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Margate, Kent, England, U.K.
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I only needed one HUGE onion. That was enough on it's own. Instead of water, I used 1/4 burgundy wine to deglaze the pan and 3/4 c. beef broth. I also used one beef bouillion cube. I always sear roasts before I cook them, it's something I learned from my father in law that I just do automatically. On the top of the roast, I rubbed in some salt and pepper and minced garlic. I plan on serving this with Montreal Steak Seasoned Mashed Potatoes and steamed broccoli. I can't wait to see how it turns out. EDITED: Making this with the red wine and beef broth was genius. So yum. It was a bit salty, if I were to make this again(and I will), I'd cut back on the salt on the meat. This meat and gravy was so wonderful. EDITED AGAIN: This is even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was pretty good. I liked the fact that it makes its own gravy, since I don't make gravy well. Next time I will skip the vinegar, it gives a little twang that wasn't that great. Needs more seasoning as others have noted, but otherwise it was really pretty good, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was okay, definitely not the best, but I don't think I would make it again. We didn't really find it as flavorful as we had expected it to be from the reviews. We ended up "doctoring it up" in the end to give it enough flavor to satisfy our palates, so that it wasn't a total waste for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by salemagnet28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very good roast! Just like some of the others who've reviewed this recipe- I added some red wine, worchestire sauce, and garlic to the gravy. Also put some baby carrots in the stock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States