Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I thought this was very bland... Had to spice it up quite a bit for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
OK, now ya'll hush about the vinegar. Susan knows what she's talking about. I had two roasts to cook, and ran out of vinegar with the first roast. Thought it would be good to compare. The roast with that little bit of vinegar was more flavorful and tender - the whole family agreed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I to did a little fixing,I added 2 roasts 3 onions,and some Marsala wine.I also added some brown sugar and apple cider vinegar and water to cover.stuck in oven for 4 and a half hours.I used my grandmother's old cast aluminum cooking vessel.The taste is hard to describe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Always a hungry family waiting when I make this for dinner. The smell is wonderful as it cooks all day on the stove and it turns out perfect everytime. I use balsamic vinegar when I don't have white and they both taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I love roast and decided to try this new version. The vinegar overpowered everything else. Also, I'm not sure why it's cooked with so many onions. I might try it again to see if I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was wonderful, tender and very tasty. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
the vinigar makes it tender also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Like many "pot" roast recipes, this one works very well in a crockpot. I threw in some red wine and garlic at the start and later added some quartered fresh baby bella mushrooms. I cooked it on low for 8 hours and the roast was falling apart when done, but remained moist, tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Delicious and tender!! I browned the 3.49lb bottom round roast. After browning I added not only the onions and bay leaf but 1 celery stalk, 1 extra large garlic clove and balsamic marinade oppose to just white vinegar. I cooked it for 3 hours since it was less than 4lbs. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I made this about 2 weeks ago and it was delicious. I only used 2 large onions and sliced about a pound of assorted fresh mushrooms. Added a few sprigs of fresh thyme as well. The only problem was that my roast was too small. The onion/mushroom gravy was delicious with the meat and I made some garlic mashed potatoes to go with this. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States