Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Too dry for the cut of bottom round that I had . Not enough liquid to make a gravy. bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susabelle
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
this is a great recipe. We tried the variation with the slow cooker. It was the first time we cooked roast in a slow cooker. We cooked a smaller buffalo round roast (about 1 lb) and followed all the same instructions, but reduced the final cooking time to low - 1 hour. It turned out nice and pink (med rare). The gravy, however, needs a little work. We may search for other gravy recipes. We added flour and water to the onion residues, and then some spices to taste...but...just not very gravy like. Overall, we still give it 5 stars for being the best way to cook roast - bed of onions using variation of slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Great, super easy, basic recipe. The gravy is really wonderful. This recipe, as others have noted, can be changed in any number of ways and is pretty foolproof. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This was fantastic (especially the gravy). The onions cooked down to give a it a nice, subtle sweetness that was OH so delicious. I used a 2-lb. roast and cooked it stovetop in a Dutch oven. First, I browned the meat on all sides in olive oil, then added to the pot: 3 sliced onions, about a 1/2 cup red wine, 1/2 Tbsp. lemon juice, 2 bay leaves, and a generous amount of salt/pepper. No vinegar (but the red wine and lemon juice made up for it). I can't do a pot roast without red wine-- it just doesn't seem right (haha). I simmered the roast on low for about 3.5 hours, then made the gravy. I used 1 cup of beef broth in place of water, and about 2 Tbsp. flour to get it to the right consistency. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I clearly did something wrong. The roast smelled incredible cooking for the 1st 3 hours, at 3 1/2 hours I checked on it and found the onions were completely burnt and stuck to the bottom of the pan. The roast was also partially burnt on the bottom. Hopefully I will be able to salvage the roast, but as far as the onions and gravy thats not going to happen. Thankfully I have some brown gravy on hand, but from what all the other reviews say my brown gravy won't compare to the one from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This recipe was incredible! The meat was yummy and the onion gravy was awesome! I used a can of Campbell's beef consume (heated) instead of the water for a stronger beefy flavor for the gravy. The next night, I shredded the leftover meat and mixed it with the leftover gravy and served it, heated, on hoagie rolls. Even better the second time around!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I loed it! Was a nice change from our boring slow cooker pot roast, I didn't use all those onions cause I didn't have them and I added mushrooms and red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
My family loved it! I used red wine vinegar (what I had on hand) and sprinkled the roast with thyme and rosemary. It was very fragrant. I did brown the roast also. The gravy is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I thought this was very bland... Had to spice it up quite a bit for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
OK, now ya'll hush about the vinegar. Susan knows what she's talking about. I had two roasts to cook, and ran out of vinegar with the first roast. Thought it would be good to compare. The roast with that little bit of vinegar was more flavorful and tender - the whole family agreed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 71-80 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States